Willerby, Yorkshire Genealogy
East Riding of Yorkshire Parishes Guide to Willerby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Scarborough|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILLERBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, wapentake of Dickering, East Riding of York; containing the townships of Binnington and Staxton, 6 miles W by N from Hunmanby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
WILLERBY, a township, in the union of Sculcoates, partly in the parish of Cottingham, Hunsley Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, and partly in the parish of Kirk-Ella, county of the town of Hull, East Riding of York, 5½ miles WNW from Hull.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Willerby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|Willerby (1705) Online Parish Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wellerby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Willerby page.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.