Wilkinson County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Wilkinson County

Guide to Wilkinson County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Woodville
Organized: 30 January 1802
Parent County(s): Adams[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adams  • Amite  • Concordia (LA)  • East Feliciana (LA)  • Franklin  • West Feliciana (LA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiWilkinsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Wilkinson County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for James Wilkinson. Wilkinson County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Wilkinson County Courthouse
.P.O Box 516
Woodville, MS 39669-0516
Phone: 601-888-4381
Wilkinson County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records. [3]

Wilkinson County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1804 1803 1808 1810

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1802 Wilkinson County was created 30 January 1802 from Adams County.
  • County seat: Woodville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Wilkinson County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wilkinson County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Wilkinson County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Wilkinson County Inventories and Account Index, 1808-1834 (Vols. 1-8) is an index to the court minutes rather than the Inventories & Accounts volumes. The binding does state Inventories & Accounts, but records were found in the court minutes.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wilkinson County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Concordia ParishAvoyelles ParishPointe Coupee ParishWest Feliciana ParishEast Feliciana ParishAmite CountyAdams CountyFranklin CountyMS WILKINSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Wilkinson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilkinson County:

- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company I - Stockdale Rangers
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Company I - Wilkinson Guards, aka Capt. J.E. Martin’s Company (was also attached to the 4th/34th Tennessee Infantry)

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Wilkinson County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Wilkinson County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Wilkinson County Museum
    P.O. Box 1055
    Bank Street
    Woodville, MS 39669
    Website

Societies

  • Wilkinson County Historical Society
    Wilkinson County Museum
    P.O. Box 1055
    Bank Street
    Woodville, MS 39669
    Email: drghsociety@yahoo.com
    Website
  • Woodville Civic Club
    Friends of the Museum
    P.O. Box 814
    Woodville, MS 39669
  • Southwest Mississippi Genealogy Society
    P.O. Box 175
    McComb, MS 39649
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Wilkinson, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilkinson_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.