Wilkes County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Wilkes County

Guide to Wilkes County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Washington
Organized: February 5, 1777
Parent County(s): Creek and Cherokee Indian lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Elbert  • Lincoln  • McDuffie  • Oglethorpe  • Taliaferro  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
Wilkes County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Wilkes County Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today
Old Wilkes County Courthouse

County Information

Description

The County was named for British politician and supporter of American independence, John Wilkes. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Wilkes County Courthouse
23 E. Court Street, Rm 205
Washington, GA 30673-1570
Phone: 706-678-2423
Wilkes County Website

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records from 1792.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1778, land records from 1777 and military discharge records.[3]

Wilkes County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1792 1792 1792 1778 1777 1792 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

1958 The courthouse at Washington burned 24 December 1958. Except for papers in courthouse offices, most historic county records were preserved in fire-proof vaults.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1777 Wilkes County was created 5 February 1777 from Creek and Cherokee Indian lands as an original county.
  • County seat: Washington[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Wilkes County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wilkes, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Wilkes County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Baptist
  • Philip's Mill - records (1785-1948) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library (Serial 1-1262 1785-1948).
  • Sardis
    • Minutes and membership rolls (1803-1852) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library (Serial 1-1264 1803-1852).
    • Members of Sardis Baptist Church Members in 1805 at Georgia Pioneers ($)


Methodist
Washington Station Methodist Church

  • 1865-1885 Washington Station Methodist Church Baptism Index 1865-1885. Batch C714001 at FamilySearch
  • 1865-1895 Washington Station Methodist Church Marriage Index 1865-1895. Batch M714001 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Wilkes County Family Group Sheets Individual Family Group Sheets submitted by individual researchers and volunteers.
  • Origins of Early Settlers to Wilkes County at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • [Huskey] Reagan, Donald B. Smoky Mountain Clans. 3 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: D.B. Reagan, 1978-1983. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273R22b 1978. [The Huskey family is discussed in Vol. 1.]
  • [Pope] Johnston, F. Claiborne. "The Tangled Trail of Two John Popes: Colonel John Pope of Amherst County and John Pope of Prince William County and Wilkes County, Georgia," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 50, No. 1 (Feb. 2012):45-64.

The following were published in The Virginia Genealogist, and digital images may be searched at American Ancestors, using their Search Form. Select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database listing, then enter the desired volume and page. Note: a login account is free but required to view search results. These are also available at the FHL (see links below).

  • [Cheatham] Dennstedt, Alberta Marjorie. "The Cheatham Family of Colonial Virginia." The Virginia Genealogist: Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1983):163-173; Vol. 27, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1983):273-279; Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):38-43; Vol. 28, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1984):102-112; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1984):209-216; Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):293-297; Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):32-40; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):123-127; Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1985):179-185; Vol. 29, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1985):262-265; Vol. 30, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1986):17-23; Vol. 30, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1986):99-104. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 27 (1983)-v. 30 (1986).
  • [Darricott] Bell, John C. "Bickleys of the Pamunkey River Watershed of Virginia in the 18th Century." The Virginia Genealogist: Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1983):32-49; Vol. 27, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1983):90-104; Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1983):179-189; Vol. 27, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1983):259-264; Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):19-32; Vol. 28, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1984):88-98; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1984):169-186; Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):261-274. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 27 (1983)-v. 28 (1984).
  • [Jackson] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. "The Jacksons of Lower Virginia." The Virginia Genealogist: Vol. 30, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1986):163-169; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1986):288-295; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):11-18; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1987):101-111; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1987):195-204; Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1987):269-278; Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1988):49-57; Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1988):119-130; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1988):185-192; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1988):259-263; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1989):34-44; Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1989):135-143; Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1989):204-207; Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1989):295-304. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 30 (1986)-v. 33 (1989).

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wilkes County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Elbert CountyLincoln CountyMcDuffie CountyWarren CountyTaliaferro CountyOglethorpe CountyGA WILKES.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


At Georgia Pioneers ($) you can find:

  • Map of Wilkes County, 1955
  • Map of Original Wilkes County
  • Map of Wilkes County Settlers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Wilkes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilkes County:

- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H; Company E, 9th Battalion
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- Ritter's Company, Georgia Light Artillery (Confederate)

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Savannah River Valley Genealogical Society
    c/o Hart County Library, Benson St
    Hartwell, GA 30643
    Website
  • Central Georgia Genealogical Society
    PO Box 2024
    Warner Robins, GA 31099
    Website
  • Washington Township Historical Society
    308 E. Robert Toombs Ave
    Washington, GA 30673-2038
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Wilkes County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilkes_County,_Georgia accessed 7 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wikes County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 60. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.