Wickford, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Wickford


Guide to Wickford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wickford, Essex
St Catherine's Wickford Essex.jpg
St Catherine's Wickford Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay
Registration District Billericay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barstable
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Wickford (St Catherine), is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Billericay district, Essex. The village is on the river Crouch, and is 4 miles N E of Pitsea railway station; it has a post-office under Chelmsford. There is an Independent chapel. The sub-district contains 7 parishes and a chapelry.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wickford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Wickford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1539-1918 1561-1944 1539-1912
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See also Wickford Congregational Church.

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Parish registers, 1538-1918 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.
Contents: item 7. Baptisms, 1538-1776; burials, 1538-1783; marriages, 1561-1753 -- item 8. Baptisms, 1776-1812; burials, 1783-1812 -- item 9. Marriages, 1755-1812 -- item 10. Baptisms, 1813-1879 -- item 11. Baptisms, 1879-1918 -- item 12. Burials, 1813-1912 -- item 13. Marriages, 1813-1838.

Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/P70/1/1-7. Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 1526987 Items 7-13

Bishop's transcripts for Wickford, 1639-1640 Microfilm of original records at the Guildhall Library, London.
In Copies of parish registers brought in at visitations, various dates / Church of England. Diocese of London.

Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1639-1640 (199th parish). FHL BRITISH Film 413721

Bishop's transcripts for Wickford, 1800-1867 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.
Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/CR 408.

Baptisms, burials, 1800-1832, 1840-1867; marriages, 1800-1832. FHL BRITISH Film 1702676 Item 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.