Wicken Bonhunt, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wicken Bonhunt, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Wicken Bonhunt


Guide to Wicken Bonhunt, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wicken Bonhunt, Essex
St. Margaret Wicken Bonhunt, Essex .jpg
St. Margaret Wicken Bonhunt, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uttlesford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Wicken Bonhunt is also known as Wicken-Bonant (St Margaret), it is a parish in Saffron-Walden district, Essex. There is a railway station 2 miles WSW of Newport, and 5 miles SW of Saffron-Walden. the post town is, Newport, under Bishops-Stortford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wicken Bonhunt, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Wicken Bonhunt, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1597-1995 1590-1925 1588-1993
FREG 1597-1746 1590-1746 1590-1746

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.