Whitworth, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whitworth, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Whitworth

Guide to Whitworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitworth, Durham
Whitworth Park Church Co Durham.jpg
Whitworth Park Church Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WHITWORTH, a parochial chapelry, partly in the union of Auckland, and partly in that of Durham, S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham.[1]

Additional information: In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Whitworth like this:

WHITWORTH, a parish in Auckland district, Durham; around Spennymoor r. station, and 4 miles NE by N of Bishop-Auckland. It contains Spennymoor, which has a post-office under Ferryhill. Acres, 1,465. Real property, £7,402; of which £5,219 are in mines, and £50 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 659; in 1861, 3,629. Houses, 636. W. Park is the seat of R. Duncombe, Esq. Old Park belonged once to the Bishops of Durham; became the residence of Dr. Wharton; was frequently visited, in his time, by the poet Gray; passed to the Myddleton family; and was recently sold to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Durham. Value, £340.* Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of D. The church was restored in 1850. A chapel of ease and three dissenting chapels are at Spennymoor.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/272 1765-1873 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1569-1958 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Whi).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Whitworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.