Whittlesey St Andrew, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Whittlesey St Andrew, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Whittlesey St Andrew, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Whittlesey|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHITTLESEY, a village, and district comprising the parishes of St. Andrew and St. Mary, which form a union, in the hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 6 miles (E. by S.) from Peterborough. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic Methodists. 
Whittlesey consisted historically of two parishes:
- St Andrew
- St Mary
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Whittlesey St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Whittlesey St Andrew Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs||1602-1856||1602-1856||1602-1856|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- French Church
- General Baptist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Whittlesey on GENUKI
Whittlesey St. Andrew on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-560.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.