Whitstable, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whitstable, Kent)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Whitstable

Guide to Whitstable, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable All Saints Kent.jpg
Whitstable All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstable
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1549
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History

Whitstable is a seaside town in Northeast Kent and is within the City of Canterbury district of the county, see Whitstable Wikipedia.

Whitstable was an Ancient parish in the Hundred of Whitstable and there was a parish with detached portions anciently.

It refers to a number of Anglican churches in the modern era which serve the town and the ancient parish boundary of earlier centuries. The following churches are within the modern Whitstable parish boundaries:

Whitstable All Saints, the original Ancient Parish church of the town from which susequent parish were formed. The present church was rebuilt in 1876-1876 by Charles Barry Junior. The church of All Saints,Church Street, has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building and has a churchyard which includes 18th gravestones with skull, hourglass or bones motifs. 

Whitstable St Peter which was initially a mission church to All Saints and built 1902-1925 in stages to present church see Church History blog site and Kent Churches

Whitstable St Alphege dates from the 1840's see church website Church website and Kent Churches website

Seasalter, Kent

There are 5 churches in the Whitstable Team ministry and a map of the Whitstable parishes may be found at A church near you

Whitstable St Andrew Kent Churches website

Other faiths include:

St John's Methodist Church (former Wesley Chapel) Argyle Road, dating from 1868 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 505-517 at British History Online and Whitstable Allsaints Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Blean Registration District Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Whitstable parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Whitstable Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax 

Images for Whitstable are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Images for the Borough of Harwich in the Division of St Augustine 1780-1831

Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 505-517. Date Accessed: 2 December2013. of Harwich, Kent+ at British History Online begins his description of Whitstable hundred of Whitstable, "excepting the small borough of Harwich, which the hundred of Westgate claims over".


Census records

1841 Census returns for Whitstable are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WHITSTABLE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Whitstable, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 5¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Canterbury. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [2]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.