To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Whitsbury, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whitsbury, Wiltshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Whitsbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Whitsbury, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawden and Cadworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Fordingbridge
Registration District Fordingbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordingbridge
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHITSBURY, or Whitchbury (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Fordingbridge, hundred of Cawden and Cadworth, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 3½ miles (N. by W.) from Fordingbridge. It is situated on the highest land between Hants and Wiltshire.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Whitsbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Wiltshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Wiltshire Banns Index 1538-1933 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Wiltshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Wiltshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = Wiltshire, England, Marriages, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Whitsbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1530-1917
1538-1933
1538-1990
FMP Banns

1538-1933


ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916
1754-1916
1813-1916
ANC Marr

1538-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Wiltshire Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Wiltshire & Swindon History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 4 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch