Whiting, Addison County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Brief History[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Historically, the largest religious groups in Vermont were the Congregational, Baptist, Roman Catholic, and Methodist churches. For general information about Vermont denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records wiki page.

To see the churches in TOWN, visit.

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. The following are church records available online for the town of TOWN:

City Directories[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

The following are online land records for the town of TOWN:

Libraries and Historical Societies[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

The following are online maps of the town of TOWN:

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In Vermont, most probate records are kept at the town level. The following are online probate records for the town of TOWN:

Town Histories[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

In Vermont, most records are kept at the town level and generally began being kept at the founding of the town. These records may include the following:

  • Births
  • Marriages
  • Deaths
  • Burials
  • Cemetery records
  • Appointments
  • Earmarks
  • Estrays (stray animals)
  • Freemens' oaths (men eligible to vote)
  • Land records
  • Mortgages
  • Name changes
  • Care of the poor
  • School records
  • Surveys
  • Tax lists
  • Town meeting minutes
  • Voter registrations
  • Warning outs (of town)

The following are TOWN town records available online:

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

The town clerk is responsible for these records, and so most originals can be found at the town clerk's office.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Births[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Deaths[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Guide to Whiting, Addison ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Brief History[edit | edit source]

Whiting was chartered on August 6, 1763. For a period of nine years after the grant of its charter nothing was done toward the settlement of Whiting. The first settlers had only been in the town a few years when the Revolution began, and during the war the town was abandoned, as were many other towns in what became Vermont.   [1]  [2]

Historical Data
[edit | edit source]

Town Histories
[edit | edit source]

Our Whiting : the history of the town of Whiting, Vermont, by Harold Webster and Elizabeth Wells Webster (1976) - find this book in a library.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Historical Records Collection has Vermont birth, death, and marriage records online.

Probate Records
[edit | edit source]

The probate district for Whiting is Addison.
Addison Probate Court
7 Mahady Court
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-2612

City Directories
[edit | edit source]

Maps
[edit | edit source]

1871 map of Whiting Township

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

The following is a list of cemeteries in present-day Whiting. For location of cemeteries, see Cemeteries of Vermont, Addison County, website at this link.  

  • Whiting Villiage Cemetery - inscriptions found at Find A Grave site.

Churches
[edit | edit source]

Town Records.
[edit | edit source]

Town Clerk Vital and Town Records, 1783-1998, can be found on FamilySearch (browse only images).

The Family History Library has microfilm of original records from the Whiting Town Clerk's Office. These include Land and vital records, 1783-1863; index to land records, 1783-1925, and Land records, 1863-1891.

Whiting Town Clerk
29 S Main St
Whiting, VT 05778
Phone: (802) 623-7813
Email: townofwhiting@shoreham.net

Newspapers
[edit | edit source]

Addison County Independent ($)

Burlington Free Press

Rutland Herald

Libraries and Historical Societies
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Adjacent towns: