Whitehaven St James, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Whitehaven St James, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Whitehaven St James, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Whitehaven|
|Parish registers: 1753|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1753|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHITEHAVEN, a sea-port, market-town, newly enfranchised borough, and the head of a union, in the parish of St. Bees, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 40 miles (S. W.) from Carlisle. Whitehaven contains four chapels: St. James, St. Nicholas, Holy Trinity and Mount Pleasant. There are places of worship for Presbyterians, Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Parish Registers begin in 1753
Source: Hay, Daniel. Whitehaven: An Illustrated History. Whitehaven, Cumbria: Michael Moon. Revised and enlarged edition 1979 p. 105-6
The registers of St. James, Whitehaven : baptisms, 1753-1837
The Family History Library has the Bishop's transcripts to St James Chapelry registers from the year 1753 to 1878.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Some online transcriptions exist for this chapelry at the following website[s] and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£) (£)|
|ST JAMES WHITEHAVEN Chapelry (1753) Online Records|
|ST BEES PARISH (1538) Online Records - to which St James Chapelry was attached|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two popular sites are:
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Whitehaven on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.