White Waltham, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to White Waltham with Shottesbrooke, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|White Waltham, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Cookham|
|Parish registers: 1563; Separate registers exist for Shottesbrooke beginning 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; Separate records exist for Shottesbrooke beginning 1612|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
White Waltham with Shottesbrooke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1744 from White Waltham Ancient Parish and Shottesbrooke Ancient Parish.
Here is a mid-19th century historical and jurisdictional perspective on both White Waltham and Shottesbrooke parishes:
WALTHAM, WHITE, or Waltham-Abbas (St Mary), a parish, in the union of Cookham, hundred of Beynhurst, county of Berks, 4 miles (S. W.) from Maidenhead; containing 1021 inhabitants. This [parish was] united to the (parish) rectory of Shottesbrook in 1744. There was formerly also a chapel of ease at Feens (which also see). Here are places of worship for Independents and Lady Huntingdon's Connexion.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. This parish is part of the Bradfield Registration District.
Church records[edit | edit source]
White Waltham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|White Waltham Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1563-1993||1563-1993||1563-1993|
|FS Catalog BTs||1608-1836||1608-1836||1608-1836|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
- Primitive Methodist.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scoll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Records[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
White Waltham in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 449-453. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.