To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to White Pine County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Ely
Organized: March 2, 1869
Parent County(s): Millard and Utah Territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Elko  • Eureka  • Juab (UT)  • Lincoln  • Millard (UT)  • Nye  • Tooele (UT)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaWhitePineCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-white-pine.png
Adoption



County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county named is derived from White Pine, an old name for the Limber Pine, a common tree in the county's mountains.[2] It is located in the east central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

White Pine County Courthouse
953 Campton Street
PO Box 659
Ely, NV 89301-1002
Phone: 775-289-2341
White Pine County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, divorce, probate and court records from 1907 and naturalization records.
County Recorder has land records from 1885. [4]

White Pine County, Nevada Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1885 1887 1907 1885 1907 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

In early 1880s, the county courthouse in Hamilton was burned down along with much of the business section by an embezzling county treasurer. In 1885, a store owner caused a devastating fire which burned down the Court House which had been moved to the Withington Hotel. Only a pitiful few records from the Sheriff’s office were salvaged. The town of Hamilton had suffered previous fires before the last which resulted in its faster demise.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Other locations or links reported as being in White Pine County:

  • Adverse
  • Baltimore Mill
  • Calumet
  • Copper Flat
  • Douglas
  • Eberhardt
  • Glenn
  • Green Springs
  • Greens
  • Hamilton
  • Osceola
  • Pogonip
  • Riepetown
  • Ruppes Place
  • Shermantown
  • Shoshone
  • Steptoe
  • Stonehouse
  • Tippett
  • Warm Springs
  • Willow Grove

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of White Pine County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on White county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 7,189
1880 2,682 −62.7%
1890 1,721 −35.8%
1900 1,961 13.9%
1910 7,441 279.4%
1920 8,935 20.1%
1930 11,771 31.7%
1940 12,377 5.1%
1950 9,424 −23.9%
1960 9,808 4.1%
1970 10,150 3.5%
1980 8,167 −19.5%
1990 9,264 13.4%
2000 9,181 −0.9%
2010 10,030 9.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [8] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [9] See links listed below.

State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada.[10] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Ely
  • Lund
  • McGill
  • Preston
  • Ruth

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, White Pine – LAND AND PROPERTY


For more information see Nevada Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Elko CountyNye CountyLincoln CountyJuab CountyMillard CountyEureka CountyTooele CountyNV WHITE PINE.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • White Pine County Library
    950 Campton Street
    Ely, NV 89301
    Phone: 775-289-3737
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • White Pine County Museum
    2000 Aultman Street
    Ely, NV 89301
    Phone: 775-289-4710
    Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • White Pine Historical Society Archaeological Society
    PO Box 151725
    Ely, NV
    Website
  • Nevada State Genealogical Society
    PO Box 20666
    Reno, NV 89515-0666
    Website
  • Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
    PO Box 1929
    Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
    Website
  • Nevada Historical Society
    1650 North Virginia Street
    Reno, NV 89503
    Phone: 775-688-1190
    Fax: 775-688-2917
    Website
  • Northeastern Nevada Genealogical Society
    1515 Idaho Street
    Elko, NV 89801-4021
  • Tri-State Genealogical Society
    For Arizona, California, Nevada
    PO Box 21902
    Bullhead City, AZ 86439
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • White Pine County NVGenWeb
  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • Nevada Genealogy Network
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "White Pine County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Pine_County,_Nevada 3/28/2017.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/whitep/ accessed 3/28/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White Pine County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White Pine County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "White Pine County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Pine_County,_Nevada#Communities, accessed 10 February 201.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  10. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
  11. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  12. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).