White County, Tennessee Genealogy
White County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to White County (established 1806) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|White County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||September 11, 1806|
- 1 Description
- 2 White County, Tennessee Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Getting Started
- 6.2 Research Guides
- 6.3 African American
- 6.4 Biographies
- 6.5 Cemeteries
- 6.6 Census
- 6.7 Church
- 6.8 County Records
- 6.9 Court
- 6.10 DNA
- 6.11 Family Histories
- 6.12 Land
- 6.13 Law and Legislation
- 6.14 Local Histories
- 6.15 Maps
- 6.16 Military
- 6.17 Newspapers
- 6.18 Occupations
- 6.19 Periodicals
- 6.20 Prisons
- 6.21 Probate Records
- 6.22 Taxation
- 6.23 Vital Records
- 7 Libraries
- 8 Societies
- 9 Family History Centers
- 10 White County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- 11 White County Tennessee Genealogy References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for John White (1751–1846), a Revolutionary War soldier, surveyor, and frontiersman who was the first known white settler of the area. The County is located in the central area of the state. 
White County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
White County Courthouse, Sparta, Tennessee
]]White County Courthouse
1 East Brockman Way
White County; County Courthouse; Rm 205; Sparta, TN 38583; Ph. 9831.836.3203 Details: (Co Clk has m rec from 1838 with a few from 1809, pro and land rec from 1806)
White County Clerk
Marriage, probate and land records
1 East Brockman Way
Sparta, TN 38583
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Sat. 8 a.m.-noon
History[edit | edit source]
Middle Tennessee county.
The county is named after "John White, Revolutionary War soldier and the first European-American settler in the county."
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
- Lost census: 1810
- Marriage records: Records start in 1809, but are incomplete.
- Probate records: Records start in 1806, but are incomplete.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published White County biography and court records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: White County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American[edit | edit source]
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. Includes free African Americans in this county.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- All of the family biographies from the History of White County, Tennessee (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Co., are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census[edit | edit source]
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. Google Books
1810 - 1891
- Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. Includes free African Americans in this county.
- The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages,will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.
- McComb, Joyce B. White County, Tennessee, 1870 Federal Census. Lexington, South Carolina: J.B. McComb, 1990. FHL 976.866 X2m 1870
- Sistler, Barbara and Byron H. Sistler. 1880 Census White County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1999. FHL 976.866 X2s 1880
1891 Male Voters
- Young, Denise, ed. White County, Tennessee Census, 1920 (database on-line). Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- White County, Tennessee Census, 1920 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
Church[edit | edit source]
- Grime, John Harvey. History of Middle Tennessee Baptists: With Special Reference to Salem, New Salem, Enon and Wiseman Associations. Nashville, Tennessee: Baptist and Reflector, 1902. Includes names changes for places in Middle Tennessee.
County Records[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Free online index to the court records transcribed by the WPA, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells a set of five White County CDs, which include a digitized version of these court records, and a variety of other local records. The court records that are included are:
- County Court Minute Book 1806-1811
- County Court Minute Book 1812-1814
- County Court Minute Book, Parts 1 & II 1814-1817
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1817-1819
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1819-1820
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1820
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Vol. 6, Part I 1820-1823
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Parts I, II & III 1824-1827
- Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Parts I & II 1835-1841
DNA[edit | edit source]
- Brown - Descendant of Dempsey Brown, b. 1836 White County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 25 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 103773). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 10), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
- Brown - Multiple descendants of Richard Brown, b. 1785 North Carolina, resident of White County, Tennessee 1800s-1828, d. 1850 Polk County, Missouri. Y-DNA 25 and 37 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 5292, 5233). Genetic signatures available online (labeled Group No. 6), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. A match has been found.
Family Histories[edit | edit source]
This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
- Heritage of White County, 1806-1999. (Sparta, Tenn.): White County History Book Committee, 1999. FHL 976.866 H2h
- Allen - Bailey, Chris. H. Eliakim Potter's Bible. Microfilmed 1995. FHL 1750789 Item 98. 1 page.
- Austin - Boyd, Larry C. and Austin Family Association of Lost Creek. Austin Family Association of Lost Creek Annual Reunion. Newsletter. McMinnville, Tenn.: Austin Family Association of Lost Creek, 1965-1991. FHL 929.27305 Au76b
- Austin - Sampson, Douglas H. Some Inter-related Families of Livingston County, Missouri. Boulder, Colo.: D.H. Sampson, 1985. FHL 929.273 Au76s
- Austin - Moore, Mabel Joyce Austin. John Austin, Sr. Family 1779-1999. Sparta, Tenn.: M.J.A. Moore, 1999. digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 Au76mm.
- Boyd - Boyd, R. Vernon. The Boyds of Sequatchie Valley, Tn. Typescript, microfilmed in 1993. [ https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/records/item/153365-the-boyds-of-sequatchie-valley-tn?offset=1 FamilySearch Digital Library]; FHL 1750733 Item 37.
- Cameron - Cameron, James Griffith. The Story of our Cameron, Freeman, Griffith, Masterson and Allied Families in America. Bellevue, Wash.: J.G. Cameron, 1983. FHL 929.273 C145cj
- Charles - Smith, Sybil Roberts. The Charles Branch of My Sunshine Tree. Grove, Okla.: S.R. Smith, 1983. FHL 929.273 C38s
- Connelly - Wallace, Anita Margie Bailey. Connelly History: with Branches of Platte, McConnell, Pennington, Evans, Simpson, Gallagher. Tulsa, Oklahoma: A.M.B. Wallace, 1973. FHL 929.273 B151wa
- Cope - Barry, Fredrick M. and Geneva Barry. The Family of Isaac Denton Cantrell and Sindrilla Cope. Franklin, N.C.: Genealogical Pub. Service, 1993. FHL 929.273 C169bf
- Crain - Crain, Solon P. and Marguerite Starr Crain. Ten Sons of Oliver. Midland, Texas: S.P. & M.S. Crain, 1972. FHL 929.273 C846cs
- Creech - Heinemann, Martha. Creeches Who were Legal Heirs of Thomas Robertson of White County, Tennessee. Typescript. Microfilmed in 2000. FHL 1425281 Item 6.
- Defreese - Gart, Jeanne Brooks. John Defreese and His Descendants. Mitchellville, Md.: J.B. Gart, 2002. FHL 929.273 D362g
- Derossett - Daniels, Jeanette K.B. The Derossett Family and Allied Lines. Salt Lake City, Utah?: Know Your Heritage Organization, (1990). FHL 929.273 D447dj
- Dibrell - McMahan, Mary Louise and Marian Carter. Descendants of James Crockett Dibrell and Margaret Virginia Mooney Dibrell. McKinney, Texas: M.L. McMahan & M. Carter, 1998. FHL 929.273 D546m
- England - Austin-Raichart, Deb and Jan Fodrocy. Descendants of Aaron England. Sparta, Tenn.: D. Austin-Raichart, (199?). FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 En34a.
- Evett - Baer, Frank L. The McNew Family of Washington Co., Va. Typescript, National Library, DAR. Microfilmed 1971. FHL 874716 Item 4.
- Fergus - Fergus-O'Brien, Adele. Fergus, Loos, Snyder Histories: Photocopies of Original Publications by Other Authors. n.p.: A. Fergus-O'Brien, 1945, 1959, 1964. FHL 929.273 F38fo
- Gillentine - Miller, Lynne D. Texas Ballards. Lincolnton, N.C.:L.D. Miller, 2000. FHL 929.273 B212mtx.
- Glenn - Glenn, Wayne. The Glenn Family of Lancaster County, Pa., Orange County, N.C., Caswell County, N.C., Lincoln County, N.C., White County, Tenn., Marshall County, Tenn., and Christian County, Mo.: Related Families Include Ramsay, Simpson, Reynolds, Wilson, Simmons, Clark, Grigg, Phillips, Beard, Collins. Nixa, Missouri: W. Glenn, 1985. FHL 929.273 G487gw.
- Goad - Worland, Wanda June Goad. Goad: Including Descendants of James Isham Goad, 1842-1989 and Related Families. Hemet, Calif.: W. Worland, 1992. FHL 929.273 G534w
- Hinesly - Nicolaides, Ray. Hinesly Family History. Typescript, microfilmed 1978. FHL 1036741 Item 19.
- Howard - Landis, Carolynn Butler. The Ancestors & Dependants [i.e. Descendants] of William Thomas Howard and Missouri Isabelle Hampton of Hamilton County, Illinois: and Allied Families of Brown, Burch, Buttery, Crouse, Hamilton, Harrington, Melton & Others. Fort Jones, Calif.: C.B. Landis, 1984. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 4381
- Jackson - Jackson, Michael Stephen. A Jackson Family History: Putnam County, Tennessee and Beyond... Freeburg, Ill.: M.S. Jackson, 1993. FHL 929.273 J132jm
- Johnson - England, Ruth Helon Johnson. Johnson and Related Families. Sparta, Tenn.: R.H.J. England, 1988. FHL 929.273 J633er
- Ketcherside - Ketcherside Family Association et al. Ketcherside Newsletter. Maryville, Tenn.: N.E.K. Howard, 1990-present. FHL 929.27305 K494k
- Ketcherside - Ketchersid, Burrell Monroe, Harry Lee Howard and Nancy Ellen Ketchersid Howard. Thomas Ketcherside and His Descendants, 1745-1995. Maryville, Tenn.: Ketchersid Family History Project, 1995. FHL 929.273 K494k
- McGowen - Love, Terry M. The Descendants of William McGowen of Tyrrell County, North Carolina [sic]. Lakeville, Minn.: T.M. Love, 1998. FHL 929.273 M177L
- McPeak - McPeak, Hugh Ray and Carroll Leroy. The William McPeak Family History [S.I.:s.n.], 1967. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 M24.
- Martin - Boyd, Harold L. and Shirley R. Martin Boyd. Footprints to the Past: Boyd--Martin Genealogy, 1415-1993. Clay Center, Kansas: H.L. & S.M. Boyd, (1993). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 B692bh.
- Ogle - Reagan, Donald B. Smoky Mountain Clans. 3 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: D.B. Reagan, 1978-1983. FHL 929.273R22b 1978. The Ogle family is discussed in Vol. 1.
- Parker - Parker, Gladys Harris, Anna Beth Heffernan and Pearl Scott Rattan. Robert Arthur Parker, a Texas Pioneer: Ancestors, Descendants, Related Families. Irving, Texas: A. B. Heffernan, 1985. FHL 929.273 P228p
- Pennington - Barnes, Josephine Auner and Irma Beghtol Kate. Genealogies of Kate--Beghtol--Vance--Boone--Pennington Families. West Des Moines, Iowa: J.A. Barnes, 1986. FHL 929.273 K156b
- Pennington - Jones, Marvin T. Some Descendants of Ephraim Pennington of Rowan County, North Carolina: Including those of Pennington's Point, McDonough County, Illinois. Wyndmere, North Dakota: M.T. Jones, 1994. FHL 929.273 P384j
- Plumlee - Houp, J. Randall. The Descendants of Isaac & Margaret (Bradshaw) Plumlee, White County, Tennessee. Alma, Ark.: J. Randall Houp, 1991. FHL 929.273 P735h.
- Porter - Keenan, Gene and Frances. Eight Generations of Porters: from 1750 in Tennessee to 1922 in California. Sparks, Nevada: E. and F. Keenan, 1992? Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Family History Library.
- Robertson - Robertson, Frank Allen. William Crockett Robertson, Ancestors - Descendants & Related Families. Houston, Texas: F.A. Robertson, 1984. FHL 929.273 R549rf
- Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. Thomas Robertson of Gum Springs, White County, Tennessee. Microfilmed in 1992. FHL 1697742 Item 32.
- Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. John Robertson. Typescript. Microfilmed in 1992. FHL 1697742 Item 27.
- Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. Creeches Who were Legal Heirs of Thomas Robertson of White County, Tennessee. Typescript. Microfilmed in 2000. FHL 1425281 Item 6.
- Scarbrough - Scarbrough, John Frederick. The Scarbrough's and Houlette's of the Cumberlands. Murfreesboro, Tenn.: J.F. Scarbrough, (1994?). FHL 929.273 Sca72sj
- Stewart - Stewart, Larimore. Dempsey Stewart of South Carolina and Tennessee. Sparta, Tenn.: L. Stewart, (198-?). FHL 929.273 St49st
- Walling - Davis, Betty Smith. Our Walling Family: Texans, Tennesseans and Others. Humble, Texas: B.S. Davis, 1991. FHL 929.273 W158d.
- Webb - Webb, Charles C. The Webb Family of White County, Tennessee. 195-?. FHL 929.273 W381wc.
- Whitaker - Swafford, William Bryson and Jeannette Lain Swafford. The Swafford--Whitaker Connection. Fort Smith, Ark.: W.B. & J.L. Swafford, 199-. FHL 929.273 Sw12sw
- Whiteley - Graves, Francis Marie. Isaac Whiteley Descendants. MSS., Carroll County Historical Society, Berryville, Ark. Microfilmed 1981. FHL 1035368 Item 3
Land[edit | edit source]
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early White County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- Deed Book A: 1801-1809
- Deed Book B: 1807-1809
- Deed Book C: 1810-1811
- Deed Book D: 1811-1812
- Deed Book E: 1812-1817
- Deed Book F: 1817-1820
- Deed Book G: 1820-1828
- Deed Book I-J: 1834-1842
- Deed Book N: 1842-1844
- Deed Book O: 1844-1849
- Deed Book P: 1848-1851
- Deed Book Q: 1851-1852
Law and Legislation[edit | edit source]
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names.  January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- The Goodspeed Histories of Cannon, Coffee, DeKalb, Warren and White Counties: With Biographical Sketches and Aboriginal Map of Tennessee. McMinnville, TN: B. Lomond Press, 1972. Reprint. Originally published: Nashville, TN: Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1887. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 924077 Item 2. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Available for purchase at Quintin Publications.
- Seals, Monroe. History of White County. 1935. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
The following White County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, White County on pages 157-158.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):122-124. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes White County pensioners (p. 123).
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1891-1965 - Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch — images
- Civil War Research Database $
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Civil War service men from White County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from White County:
- 1st Battalion, Tennessee Infantry (Colms') (20th Battalion) (Confederate) - Companies A, B, C, D, and E.
- 13th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Gore's) - CSA - Companies D, H, I, and K.
- 16th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies G and K.
- 22nd Battalion, Tennessee Infantry (Murray's) - CSA - Companies A and B.
- 25th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A, C, E, and K.
- 28th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 28th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (2nd Tennessee Mountain Volunteers) - CSA - Company K.
- 50th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry- CSA - Companies H and K.
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company B
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from White County:
- USGenWeb Archives, White County Tennessee Archives. Military Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: White County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. White County, page 386.
- TNGenWeb, White County Civil War Units.
- Legends & Stories of White County, TN, By Coral Williams. Abstract, Contents, & Introduction. "The purpose of this study is to bring together the legends and stories of White County, Tennessee, and thus to collect and preserve the adventures and experiences of those hardy pioneers who established the country and of those brave characters who endured the fortunes of the Civil War."
- Head, Thomas A. Campaigns and battles of the Sixteenth Regiment, Tennessee Volunteers, in the war between the states, with incidental sketches of the part performed by other Tennessee troops in the same war.1861-1865. Nashville, Tennessee: Cumberland Presbyterian Publishing House, 1885. Free digital copy.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Sparta, White County, Tennessee newspapers. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- 1824 Sparta Review - Sparta, Tennessee
- 1825 Sparta Review - Sparta, Tennessee
- 1829-1831 Miscellaneous Newspapers - Sparta, Tennessee
- 1832-1833 Miscellaneous Newspapers - Sparta, Tennessee
- 1841-1855 Miscellaneous Newspapers - Sparta, Tennessee
- Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for White County click on the following cities or towns:
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes White County.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of White County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Perry County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
- The Past Finder
- Quarterly published by the White County Genealogical-Historical Society. Table of Contents available on the website.
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
- The Upper Cumberland Researcher
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of White County, Tennessee have been published in The Upper Cumberland Researcher, the journal of the Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association, Inc. To view a list of the first 17 years of these articles, visit their online Seventeen Year Index to The Upper Cumberland Researcher (Vols. 1-17, 1975-1992). The Index contains a "Counties" section beginning on page 19. The Family History Library has most issues through the present FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2u (1975-1993) and FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2u (1994-present).
Prisons[edit | edit source]
Learn if your White County, Tennessee Genealogy ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The White County Court and County Clerk have responsibility for the probate records.Many records are held by the White County Archives (click here for more information.)
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Inventories, Wills, 1810-1840 (2 vols.)
- Settlements, Wills, 1831-1967 (Vols. B-O)
- Wills, 1944-1965
- Bonds, 1886-1967 (4 vols.)
- Bonds, Letters, 1866-1967 (6 vols.)
- Claims against estates, 1930-1961
- Guardian records, 1854-1875
- Inventories, 1841-1966 (3 vols.)
- Letters, 1886-1915
Free online index to the probate records transcribed by the WPA, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells a set of five White County CDs, which include a digitized version of these probate records, and a variety of other local records. The probate records that are included are:
- Inventories and Will Book A 1810-1828
- Inventories and Will Book B (not complete) 1831-1840
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early White County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following White County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:
- 1841-1855 - Hickerson, Elma Lee. Tennessee Records of White County Wills, 1841-1855. 2 volumes. Nashville, Tennessee: Filmed by the Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1968. Volume 1 is an indexed, volume is not. (FHL film 464153-464154 Item 1.)
- 1810-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.
- 1810-1828 - Strictly By Name (see above).
Taxation[edit | edit source]
The original White County tax records are held at the County Courthouse. Julia Cauble Smith's "White County Tax Districts -- Overview," hosted online by TNGenWeb, will help researchers understand how the county was divided into tax districts.
Images of White County's original tax records have been reproduced multiple times:
- 1811-1815 - White County Tax Book 1811-1815. TSLA Reel #123, Nashville, Tenn.
- 1811-1876 - Haston, Wayne. 1811-1876 Tax Lists: White County, Tennessee. CD-ROM. Purchase at The Heritage of Daniel Haston. Free transcripts of Militia/Civil District for Caney Fork-Cane Creek Area 1811-1839, taken from this resource, are available online.
- 1811-1965 - White County Tax Books 1811-1865. FHL 507969 28 microfilm reels
- 1816-1829 - White County Tax Books 1816-1829. FHL 464154 Items 2-4
- 1832-1836 - White County Tax Books 1832-1836. FHL 464155 Item 1
- 1955-1966- Federal tax liens for White County, Tennessee, 1955-1966. Nashville: TSLA, 1967. FHL 507938 Item 2
The following White County tax records have been abstracted:
- 1811-1815 - Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. Google Books. Cites White County Tax Book, 1811-1815 as a source.
- 1811 - Hughes, T.P.. "White County, Tennessee 1811 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):106-118. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- 1811-1815 - Historical Records Survey.Tax books, 1811-1815, White County, Tennesssee. Nashville: TSLA, Typescript. FHL 24870
- 1811, 1825 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. (Includes 1811 and 1825 tax lists.)
- 1811-1826 - Select abstracts of White County, Tennessee Tax Lists 1811-1826, available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. (Source: FHL US/CAN Film 507969.)
- 1812 - "White County, Tennessee: Census of Taxable Inhabitants, 1 Jan. 1812," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 12, No. 4 ():189-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1812 - Gant, Wanda. "White County, TN 1812 Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives. Source: TSLA Roll# 123 Book 1812.
- 1813 - "White County Sheriff Reports Some Unpaid 1813 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 46, No. 3 (Fall 1999):39. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- 1813 - Sheriffs Report, Unpaid Taxes, 1813, Past Finder, Vol. 6, No. 5 (Sep. 1999).
- 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. (Includes White County.)
- 1820-1821 - Road Docket, 1820/21, Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 4 (Winter 1991).
- 1826 - "A List Containing the Names and Number of Free Male Inhabitants of the Age of Twenty-one Years and Upwards. Resident Citizens of White County, Tennessee, on the 1st Day of January 1826," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 9, No. 2 ():42-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1836 - "White County, Tennessee Civil District Boundaries 1836," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 9, No. 3 ():80-; Vol. 10, No. 1 ():7-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1844 - "White County, Tennessee: District 9 Taxpayers 1844," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 12, No. 2 ():92-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1848 - "White County, Tennessee: Delinquent Taxpayers 1848," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 13, No. 2 ():77-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1851 - "White County, Tennessee: Eligible Voters as of 1 January 1851," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 17, No. 2 ():68-; Vol. 17, No. 3 ():101-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1854 - "White County, Tennessee: A List of Some White County, TN Voters, 1854," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 10, No. 3 ():83-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1860s - "White County, Tennessee: Civil War Tax List," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 3, No. 5 ():3-. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1862 - Assessments, 1862, Past Finder, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Jul. 1999).
- 1862 - Persons Released from Paying Taxes, 1862, The Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1987). For access, see Periodicals.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- For free lookups of White County, Tennessee vital statistics 1914-1925 click here.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1909 - White County Birth Index 1881-1909 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.org - free.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
The original White County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Marriages were not officially recorded in White County until 1809. However, the early marriage records are incomplete until 1838 when a law was passed mandating the practice. The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
State Marriage Records
The following White County marriage records are microfilmed:
- 1838-1994 - Available at the TSLA. 1838-1910 can be interlibrary loaned.
- 1838-1967 - Available at the Family History Library. Each volume is indexed. FHL 507886
The following White County Courthouse marriage records have been indexed:
- 1809-1859 - Mitchell, Mary Fancher. White County, Tennessee Oldest Marriage Book, 1809-1859. [S.l.]: Doliante, J. Sharon Johnson, c1977. Available at FHL 976.866 V25m Digital version available at World Vital Records ($).
- 1809-1870 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL 976.8 V2sb v. 2 Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage or marriage bond dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.
- 1838-1933 - White County Marriage Index 1838-1933 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.org - free.
- 1838-1860 - Marriage Records, 1838-1860, White County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1940. Typescript. FHL 24865 Item 1
- 1859-1881 - Rhinehart, Margaret. White County Marriage Records: Part of book 1, January 11, 1859 to June 11, 1881. Spencer, Tennessee: Van Buren County Historical Society, 1985. FHL 976.866 V2w
- 1921-1957 - Austin-Raichart, Deb, Jan Fodrocy and Mary W. Holland. White County, Tennessee, Marriages March 1921-August 1957. Sparta, Tennessee: D.Austin-Raichart, 199-?. FHL 976.866 V28a
- 1812-1843 - Marriage Records. 
- 1809-1850 - Marriage Records: Early–1850. 
Divorce[edit | edit source]
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of White County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see the following resources:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
For deaths of Methodists in White County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. (1847-1914) 10 vols. Jackson, Tenn.: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830's, 1840's, 1910's and 1920's.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
- White County Public Library
11 North Church St.
Sparta, TN 38583
Web site: http://wtclibrary.org/wcplibrary.php
Hours: Mon. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Tues. 8 a.m.-8 p.m.
Wed.-Saturday 8:00 a.m.-5 p.m.
Genealogical resources include regional history books, family history books, and White County records on microfilm.
A computer provides Internet access and the full texts of obituaries from The Expositor in recent years, with an index for each year. It's catalog is online.
Societies[edit | edit source]
- White County Genealogical-Historical Society
1 E. Bockman Way, Room 304 Courthouse
Sparta, TN 38583-2035
Web site: http://web.blomand.net/~wcolley/wcghs.html
Publication: PastFinder. Quarterly since 1994. Table of Contents online.
The society collects material to establish or illustrate the genealogies and history of the area: its exploration, settlement, development, and activities in peace and in war; it's progress in population, wealth, education, arts, science, agriculture, manufacturing, trade and transportation. It collects printed histories, genealogies, biographies, descriptions, gazetteers, directories, newspapers, pamphlets, catalogs, circulars, handbills, programs, and posters; manuscript material such as letters, diaries, journals, memoranda, reminiscences, rosters, service records, account books, charts, surveys, and field books; and museum material such as pictures, photographs, paintings, portraits, scenes, aboriginal relics, and material objects illustrative of life, conditions, events, and activities of the past and the present.
- Bon Air Mountain Historical Society
9479 Crossville Hwy
Sparta, TN 38583
- Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which White County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- McMinnville Tennessee
183 Underwood Road
McMinnville, Warren, Tennessee, United States
Hours: W 6pm-9pm, Th 9am-5pm
Closed: Other times by appointment
- See also Putnam and Warren Counties
White County Tennessee Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch) — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: TN-UPPER-CUMBERLAND-L (Upper Cumberland Tennessee Region Genealogy List) (RootsWeb)
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- White County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- White County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- White County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- White County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
White County Tennessee Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "White, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_County,_Tennessee accessed 09 Jan 2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White County, Tennessee. Page 638-645 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 637-640.
- "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 645. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 49.
- Wikipedia contributors, "White County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_County%2C_Tennessee, accessed 15 December 2019.
- May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Meigs County, Tennessee page 642, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
- Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL 973 B2ng v. 81 1993
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1992. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 229.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.