White County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
White County
 

Guide to White County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Searcy
Organized: October 23, 1835
Parent County(s): Pulaski, Jackson, Independence[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cleburne  • Faulkner  • Independence  • Jackson  • Lonoke  • Prairie  • Woodruff
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasWhiteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-white.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Hugh Lawson White, a Whig candidate for President of the United States. The County Seat is Searcy and was founded October 23, 1835.[2] It is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

White County Courthouse
300 N Spruce Street
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: 501.279.6200
White County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court, land, tax and miscellaneous records[4]

White County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1836 1914* 1836 1837 1848 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Albion
  • Antioch
  • Andrews
  • Bare Stone
  • Barrentine Corner
  • Bee Rock
  • Belcher
  • Center Hill
  • Clay
  • Conant
  • Crosby
  • Dewey
  • Dogwood
  • Doniphan
  • El Paso
  • Enright
  • Essex
  • Floyd
  • Four Mile Hill or "Boot Hill"
  • Georgia Ridge
  • Gravel Hill
  • Hammondsville
  • Happy
  • Harmony
  • Hart
  • Hickory Flat
  • Holly Springs
  • Joy
  • Keeler Corner
  • Liberty Valley
  • Little Red
  • Midway
  • Mitchell Corner
  • Morning Sun
  • Nimmo
  • Opal
  • Pickens
  • Plainview
  • Pryor
  • Providence
  • Rio Vista
  • Romance
  • Showalter's Corner
  • Sidon
  • Smyrna
  • Steprock
  • Sunnydale
  • Twentythree
  • Velvet Ridge
  • Vinity Corner
  • Walker
  • Worden
  • Wright's Corner
Townships
  • Albion
  • Antioch
  • Bald Knob (Bald Knob)
  • Big Creek (Pangburn)
  • Cadron
  • Cane
  • Chrisp
  • Clay
  • Cleveland
  • Coffey
  • Coldwell
  • Crosby
  • Cypert
  • Denmark


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the White County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of White, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 929
1850 2,619 181.9%
1860 8,316 217.5%
1870 10,347 24.4%
1880 17,794 72.0%
1890 22,946 29.0%
1900 24,864 8.4%
1910 28,574 14.9%
1920 34,603 21.1%
1930 38,269 10.6%
1940 37,176 −2.9%
1950 38,040 2.3%
1960 32,745 −13.9%
1970 39,253 19.9%
1980 50,835 29.5%
1990 54,676 7.6%
2000 67,165 22.8%
2010 77,076 14.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1835-1924 White County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1857-1889; Dockets 1866-1871; Executor and guardian bonds and letters 1854-1940; Probate case files 1835-1920; Probate record index 1848-1866; Probate records 1848-1887; Wills 1853-1934.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Cleburne CountyIndependence CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyFaulkner CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyPrairie CountyMonroe County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in White County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[9], Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), 2nd Company E
- 6th Battalion Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company E
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[10]
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, E and H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[11], Company G

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “White County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/white/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "White County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White County, Arkansas. Page 71 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "White County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_County,_Arkansas, accessed 2 October 2018.
  8. Scott Akridge, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=814&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 18, 2016), “White County.”
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  10. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  11. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  12. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.