White County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from White County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png White County

Guide to White County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


White County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting White County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 23, 1835
County Seat Searcy
Courthouse
ArkansasWhiteCourthouse.jpg
Address White County Courthouse
300 N Spruce Street
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: 501.279.6200


County Courthouse

White County Courthouse
300 N Spruce Street
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: 501.279.6200


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court, land, tax and miscellaneous records[1]

Beginning years for White County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1836 1914* 1836 1837 1848
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records.

History

Parent County

County seat: Searcy [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cleburne  • Faulkner  • Independence  • Jackson  • Lonoke  • Prairie  • Woodruff  •

White CountyWoodruff CountPulaski CountyLonoke County,Prairie CountyMonroe CountyVan Buren CountyIndependence CountyClebourne CountyJackson CountyFaulkner CountyAR WHITE 2.JPG
About this image


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the White County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online White County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in White County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1835-1924 White County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1857-1889; Dockets 1866-1871; Executor and guardian bonds and letters 1854-1940; Probate case files 1835-1920; Probate record index 1848-1866; Probate records 1848-1887; Wills 1853-1934.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in White County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in White County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[5], Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), 2nd Company E
- 6th Battalion Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company E
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[6]
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, E and H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[7], Company G

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of White County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to White County, Arkansas Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of White County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to White County, Arkansas Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com White County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com White County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 71.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Scott Akridge, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=814&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 18, 2016), “White County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.