Whitchurch, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Whitchurch, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitchurch, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langtree
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Henley
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHITCHURCH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bradfield, chiefly in the hundred of Langtree, county of Oxford, 6½ miles (N.W.) from Reading. It comprises 2180 acres, of which 301 acres are in the county of Berks, and the remainder in the county of Oxford.[1]

Whitchurch is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and mostly in Oxfordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Whitchurch Tollhouse. A more detailed description is available from Genuki.org.uk.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. This parish is part of the Bradfield Registration District.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Whitchurch Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Oxfordshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Oxfordshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Oxfordshire ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past Marriage Bonds-Oxfordshire ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Church of England BMD - Oxfordshire ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-

Other Online Records These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

  • findmypast - fee-based, but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk - fee-based, but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk - fee-based, but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a free UK census search. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scoll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Whitchurch in GENUKI
Oxfordshire History Centre
Oxfordshire Family History Society

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 543-551. Date accessed: 08 October 2012.