Whitchurch, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Whitchurch, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
For more information and records, see Whitchurch, Shropshire.
|Hundred||Nantwich; North Bradford|
|Poor Law Union||Whitchurch Incorp|
|Registration District||Nantwich; Wem|
|Parish registers: 1627|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1674|
|Rural Deanery||Market Drayton|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHITCHURCH, is a town in Shropshire, a parish partly also in Cheshire, a district partly likewise in Flint, but all registration-ally in Shropshire, and a division electorally in Shropshire. The town stands at the terminus of a short branch of the Ellesmere Canal, and at the junction of the railways from Shrewsbury and Oswestry to Crewe, 19 miles N by E of Shrewsbury; was anciently called Blancminster; and has a head post-office, there is a railway station, and four dissenting chapels. The parish includes 12 townships in Shropshire, and one in Cheshire. In the diocese of Lichfield.
Whitchurch is an Ancient Parish, mostly in Shropshire and partly in Cheshire. The parish church for Whitchurch, Cheshire is Marbury, Cheshire
The former chapelry in the Ancient parish of Whitchurch, Shropshire serves the parish.
Marbury cum Quoisley includes Norbury near Malpas and Whitchurch, Cheshire
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Whitchurch St Alkmund parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Whitchurch St Alkmund Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Nantwich (1837–53)
- Whitchurch (1853–1937)
- Crewe (1937–74)
- Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
- South Cheshire (1988–98)
- South Cheshire (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Nantwich Poor Law Union(1837–53)
- Whitchurch Incorporation Poor Law Union, Shropshire(1853-1930)
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Whitchurch (Shropshire) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Wrenbury and Marbury: The History of Two Parishes and the Nearby Villages, Latham FA, ed. (Local History Group; 1999), p.71 (ISBN: 0-9522284-5-9)
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 225–227
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 50, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 18, 275, ISBN 0 300 09588 0