To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wheelock, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wheelock, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wheelock, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHEELOCK, a township, in the parish of Sandbach, union of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 1½ mile (S. S. W.) from Sandbach. The Grand Trunk canal passes through. A district church, dedicated to Christ, has been erected. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and another for Independents.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Wheelock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wheelock Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Parish Churches[edit | edit source]

Sandbach St Mary

Elworth St Peter, Cheshire

Sandbach Heath St John

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Sandbach, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Middlewich Road. Built in 1865, rebuilt in 1913.
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1788 on Middlewich Road, rebuilt in 1871 in Wesley Avenue. 
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1832 on Union Street, rebuilt in 1857 in Wells Street, closed in 1950. 
Sandbach, Providence Methodist Chapel (Free), Bradwall Road. Built in 1839, closed in 1964. .
Sandbach Heath, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1851, closed in 1902.
Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1882.
Ettiley Heath, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1888.
Sandbach, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Hope Street. Built in 1807.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records for the Providence Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bradwell Road, Sandbach, 1863-1959 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 220/2/1, EMS 220/3/1-2.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1863-1936. Marriages, 1910-1959. BRITISH 2299525 Items 1 - 3

Church records for the Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1838-1956 and includes Sandbach, Sandbach Heath, Alsager, Elton, Bradwall, Smallwood, Warmingham, Betchton, Coppenhall, Odd Rode, Crewe, Congleton, Lawton, Nantwich, Biddulph, Ettiley Heath, Thurlwood, Rode Heath, Willaston, Sproston, Hassall, Haslington, and Elworth.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1956. BRITISH 2299550 Item 7

Church records for the Sandbach Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1843-1946 and includes Sandbach, Haslington, Wheelock, Weston, Wybunbury, Engleston Brook, Etteley Heath, Middlewich, Newton, Barthomley, Staleybridge, Etton, Church Coppenhall, Betchton, Hough, Sydney, Crewe, Lawton, Elton, Odd Rode, Malkins Bank, Thurlwood, Thurlton, Congleton, Hassel-Green, Rode-Heath, Elworth, and Winterley. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMC 8/14/1-4.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1843-1946 (date on title board for item 11 is wrong BRITISH 2299550 Items 8 - 11

Church records for the Welles Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sandbach, 1911-1946 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 221/1/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1911-1946 BRITISH 2299525 Item 4

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Hassall Green, 1838-1952 Hassall Green is within the township of Hassall in Sandbach parish. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 209/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1952 (title board item incorrect). BRITISH 2299417 Item 22

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wheelock on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk