Wheeler County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Wheeler County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wheeler County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||February 17, 1899|
|Address||Wheeler County Courthouse|
701 Adams Street
P O Box 327
Fossil, Or 97830
Wheeler County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Wheeler County, Oregon Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Historical Facts
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Archives and Libraries
- 6.2 Biography
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Church History and Records
- 6.5 Court Records
- 6.6 Gazetteers
- 6.7 History
- 6.8 Land and Property
- 6.9 Maps
- 6.10 Military History and Records
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate Records
- 6.13 Taxation
- 6.14 Vital Records
- 7 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 8 Websites
- 9 Wheeler County Oregon Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Henry H. Wheeler. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Wheeler County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has probate records from 1899 and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divoce and court records. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wheeler County Court House as of June 2008.
Wheeler County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent Counties[edit | edit source]
Named for Henry H. Wheeler, a early settler who owned a farm near Mitchell.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Wheeler County Cultural & Heritage Coaliation
Fossil Public Library
401 Main St
Fossil OR 97830
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - link to search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Wheeler County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Wheeler GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project, a state project affiliated with The USGenWeb Project.
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Wheeler County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wheeler, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheeler_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wheeler County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wheeler County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wheeler County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheeler_County,_Oregon, accessed 20 January 2019.