Wheatfield, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Wheatfield, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wheatfield, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pirton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1722
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1722
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHEATFIELD, a parish, in the union of Thame, hundred of Pirton, county of Oxford, 2¼ miles (S.) from Tetsworth. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Wheatfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
AC = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 Ancestry.com - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
WHEATFIELD PARISH (1722) Online Church Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None
None
None
AC 1722-1915 1722-1915 1722-1930 1722-1930 1722-1965 1722-1965
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



OFHS 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Date accessed: 04 October 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk