To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wharton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wharton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHARTON, a township, in the parish of Davenham, union and hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 2½ miles WNW from Middlewich. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Wharton Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Wharton Christ Church Parish (1860) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1843-1909
  NONE
1850-1934
  NONE
1843-1927
  NONE
FS BT's
1851-1895
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1855-1895
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Wharton, 1843-1947 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P214/1/1-4, P214/4662/7, P214/2/1-4, P214/3/1-2.

Parish Registers: Wharton Film
Baptisms, 1843-1882 (2 registers with index for each).
2106221 Items 20 - 21
Index to baptisms, November 1882-November 1908. Baptisms, 1882-1931 (2 registers). Marriages, 1850-1947 (4 registers). Burials, 1843-1927 (2 registers).
2106345

Bishop's transcripts for Wharton, 1851-1895 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 217

Bishops Transcripts: Wharton
Film
Baptisms, 1851-1854, baptisms, burials, 1855, baptisms, 1856, baptisms, burials, 1857, baptisms, 1858-1861, burials, 1857-1861, baptisms, 1862-1864, burials, 1862-1864, baptisms, 1865-1875, burials, 1865-1875, baptisms, burials, 1876-1893, 1895, 1894.
1647760 Item 4
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Presbyterian

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for Wharton Presbyterian Church, 1803-1921.

Church records for Wharton Presbyterian Church
Film
Baptisms, 1803-1892; burials, 1869-1921.
2355705 Item 11

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich (1837-1936)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-537. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch