Wharram le Street, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wharram le Street, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wharram le Street, Yorkshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckrose
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Malton
Registration District Malton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckrose
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHARRAM-LE-STREET (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Malton, wapentake of Buckrose, East Riding of York, 6¾ miles SE by E from Malton. The parish is on the road between Malton and Beverley.[1]

The Ancient Parish of Wharram-le-Street is in the village and civil parish of Wharram in the Ryedale district of North Yorkshire and near to the deserted mediaeval village of Wharram Percy, Yorkshire Genealogy See Wharram-le-Street Wikipedia

The 12th century church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The ruined church of St Martin Wharram Percy has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1538.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include:

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Wharram le Street Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-East Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-East Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-East Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600-1800s
-
Find My Past Banns-East Riding ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-East Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds-East Riding ($)
-
-
Archdeaconry of Richmond, England, Church of England Marriage Bonds, 1611-1861 1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1700s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-537. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.