Whaplode, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Whaplode, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St+Mary Whaplode Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Holbeach|
|Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Whaplode St John the Baptist beginning 1713|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Whaplode St John the Baptist beginning 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHAPLODE (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Holbeach, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (W.) from Holbeach; containing, with the chapelry of Whaplode-Drove.
Whaplode St Mary is an Ancient Parish which includes West Whaplode, Whaplode Drove, Whaplode St John the Baptist, Saracen's Head, Dowsdale, East Whaplode, and Whaplode Washway within the parish boundary.
The church of St Mary was reputedly built in the 12th century.
The ecclesiastical parish of Whaplode Drove St John the Baptist was formed from this parish in 1902 from the chapelry whose registers date from 1713.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was in the Holbeach sub-district of Holbeach registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Whaplode parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Whaplode Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Whaplode Par 1 and Whaplode Drove Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Whaplode
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 August 2013.