To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Whaddon, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Whaddon, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whaddon, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cottesloe
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Winslow
Registration District Winslow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1584
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Mursley
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WHADDON, a village, a township, and a parish, in Winslow district, Bucks. The village stands 3½ miles N by E of Swanbourne r. station, and 4½ S by E of Stony-Stratford.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Whaddon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Whaddon Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1584-1842
1584-1837
1584-1859
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1630-1649, 1710-1859
1680-1709, 1720-1869
1700-1869
IGI 1584-1795, 1785-1842
1585-1790, 1791-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1584-1859
1584-1859
1584-1859
FS Catalog BTs
1597-1841
1597-1841
1597-1841

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Whaddon on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 11 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk