Weybridge, Addison County, Vermont Genealogy
Guide to Weybridge, Addison ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Weybridge was chartered by New Hampshire in 1761 and organized in 1789. Colonel Joseph Battell began breeding Morgans on his farm in Weybridge, VT in the late 1870s. His intense interest in preserving and promoting America's first breed of horse saved the Morgan from extinction. Battell spent years studying and tracing Morgan pedigrees, resulting in the publication of the first volume of the Morgan Horse Register in 1894. In 1907 he gave his farm to the U.S. Government.  
History of Weybridge, Vermont, by Ida H. Washington (1991) - find this book in a library.
FamilySearch Historical Records Collection has Vermont birth, death, and marriage records online.
The probate district for Weybridge is Addison.
Addison Probate Court
7 Mahady Court
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-2612
The following is a list of cemeteries in present-day Weybridge. For location of cemeteries, see Cemeteries of Vermont, Addison County, website at this link.
- First Weybridge Hill (John Nixon Farm) Cemetery - inscriptions found at Find A Grave site.
- Stow Cemetery - inscriptons found at Find A Grave site and online.
- Weybridge Hill Cemetery - inscriptions found at Find A Grave site.
The Family History Library has microfilm of original records from the Weybridge Town Clerk's Office. These include Vital records of Weybridge, Vermont, 1800-Jan. 1999, Land records, 1789-1850, and Vital records, 1795-1859.
Weybridge Town Clerk
1727 Quaker Village Road
Weybridge, Vermont 05753
Phone: (802) 545-2450
Libraries and Historical Societies
- UVM Morgan Horse Farm, Weybridge, VT http://www.uvm.edu/morgan/?Page=farm/history.html&amp;amp;amp;SM=farm_info_sub.html
- History of the Town of Weybridge, VT http://sites.rootsweb.com/~vermont/AddisonWeybridge.html