To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Westville, Franklin County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Westville, Franklin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


History[edit | edit source]

Westville was organized from Constable April 25, 1829.[1]

Westville Wikipedia page

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Westville Historical Organization website

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Westville Town Clerk
Ann F. Brady
936 Co. Rt. 19
Constable, N.Y. 12926
Phone: 518-358-0026
The Town Clerk has the records of birth, death, or marriage for the Town for period 1890 - present. Previous records burned in a fire in the late 1800s.

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Westville Town Historian
Jean Goddard
19 County Route 20
Constable, N.Y. 12926
Phone: 518-358-9222
Email: goddardj@northnet.org
Hours: By appointment.
Collection: Access to the Westville History Center's cemetery records, tax records, family genealogies, and many other records for research. Restrictions: The town historian or another qualified person must be present when the archives are made available for researchers.

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Westville, Franklin County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Frederick Joel Seaver, Historical Sketches of Franklin County and its several towns (J.B. Lyon Company, 1918)

Places[edit | edit source]