Weston (near Crewe), Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Weston (near Crewe), Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Weston (near Crewe), Cheshire|
|Poor Law Union||Nantwich|
|Parish registers: 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1843|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WESTON, a township and a chapelry in Wybunbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies 2 miles SE of Crewe railway station. The chapelry was constituted in 1840. Post town is Nantwich. The church was built in 1842. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Weston is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1841 from Wybunbury Ancient Parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Weston (near Crewe) All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Weston (near Crewe) All Saints Parish (1843) Online Records|
|FS BT'S||843-1876|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers of Baptisms 1558–1970, Marriages 1558–1973 and Burials 1558–1962 have been deposited at the Record Office. The registers have been transcribed as part of the Cheshire Parish Registers Project.
Parish registers for Wybunbury Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office no.: P37/1/1-3, P37/2/1-8, P37/3/1-9, P37/4/1-4, P37/6/1-7, P37/7/1, P37/28.
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1655, 1653-1700. FHL BRITISH Film 2068758 Items 4 - 5
Marriages, 1700-1754; baptisms, 1700-1772. FHL BRITISH Film 2298978 Item 13
Baptisms, 1772-1779; burials, 1700-1779. Baptisms, burials, 1779-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 2298979 Items 1 - 2
Banns, 1802-1915 (marriage date listed on banns, 1885-1915). Draft registers baptisms and burials, 1786-1801. Grave register, 1807-1875. FHL BRITISH Film 1656806 Items 2 - 7
Baptisms, 1813-Sep. 1917. FHL BRITISH Film 2068773
Baptisms, Apr. 1917-1957. Marriages, 1754-Dec. 1869. FHL BRITISH Film 2068774
Marriages, Oct. 1869-1947. FHL BRITISH Film 2068775
Burials, 1813-Apr. 1951. FHL BRITISH Film 2068776
Burials, Feb. 1951-1962. FHL BRITISH Film 2068777 Item 1
An index of Cheshire Parish registers is available at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Bishop's transcripts Wybunbury Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.
Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/232
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1604, 1607-1609, 1611-1619, 1622-1625, 1627-1634, 1636-1640, 1658-1687, 1689, 1688, 1690-1749, 1751, 1750-1755. FHL BRITISH Film 1850126
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1756-1821. FHL BRITISH Film 1850127
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1850. FHL BRITISH Film 1850128
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1851-1855, 1857, 1856, 1858-1872, baptisms, burials, 1873-1880, baptisms, 1881-1883, 1886. FHL BRITISH Film 1850129
An index of Cheshire Bishop's transcripts is available at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Wybunbury, Wesley Place Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1817, rebuilt in 1831, 1864. Registers of marriages 1925–1969 are at the Record Office.
National Archive: Wesley Place Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Weston (Wybunbury): register of baptisms, accounts, financial statements, correspondence relative to closure and sale of church building 1887-2003 (EMS 283)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Nantwich (1837–1937)
- Crewe (1937–74)
- Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
- South Cheshire (1988–98)
- Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Weston (near Crewe) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013