Westoe, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Westoe

Guide to Westoe, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westoe, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union South Shields
Registration District South Shields
Records begin
Parish registers: 1864
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WESTOE, a township, in the parish of Jarrow, union of South Shields, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham. [1]

Additional information: Westoe, or sometimes known as South Westoe St. Michael and All Angels was created in 1878. The AdjacentParishes of Harton St. Peter South Shields Holy Trinity South Shields St. Aidan South Shields St. Hilda South Shields St. Mark South Shields St. Oswin South Shields St. Hilda. Parts of this parish became part of these parishes: South Shields St. Oswin (1903)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers from 1878-1982 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SW)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

South Shields Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Westoe (see Jarrow) on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.