Westmorland, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Westmorland Wiki Topics
Flag of Westmorland.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Westmorland Background
Local Research Resources
United Kingdom
England
Westmorland
Westmorland England

Guide to Westmorland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information

Westmorland (or sometimes Westmoreland) was an inland county located in the upper north-western part of England. The County of Westmorland ceased to exist in 1974, when local government in England was re-organised. From that date, all of the geographical area of Westmorland became part of the new county of Cumbria.

"WESTMORELAND is an inland... Much of the scenery is romantic or picturesque; and that in the west forms a main part of the features of the English lake region... The county contains 31 parishes and a part; is divided into Kendal borough, and East, West, Kendal, and Lonsdale wards... comprises 487,567 acres... The only town with more than 2,000 inhabitants is Kendal; but there are about 220 smaller towns, villages, and hamlets... '[1]

Newspaper Archives

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Westmorland parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Westmorland.

Civil Districts

List of Westmorland Civil Registration Districts

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). See the full account on Vision of Britain.