Westminster St Mary under Croft, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Westminster St Mary under Croft

Guide to Westminster St Mary Under Croft, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches within the Civil Parish Boundaries of St Margaret Westminster as of 1900.

St Mary Croft Westminster, House of Parliament Chapel.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Mary under Croft, Middlesex.[1]

Additional information:

The Chapel of St Mary Under Croft was completed by King Edward I in 1297, further developed under Edward II, and finally completed by Edward III in around 1365. While St Stephen's Chapel was the chapel of the Royal Family, the Court (later including MPs or members of Parliament) and the Royal Household worshipped at St Mary Undercroft.

This chapel came under the parochial jurisdiction of St Margaret Westminster (across the street from the Parliamentary Palace). Marriages and baptisms only, were performed in this free chapel and records of these events were lodged in the St Margaret Westminster parish registers.

For searches in these registers, contact the Westminster Abbey Muniment Room, Westminster Abbey, London SW1P 3PA

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Mary under Croft parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Westminster St Mary under Croft Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Mary in Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk