To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Westminster St Margaret, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Westminster St Margaret

Guide to Westminster St Margaret, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches within the Civil Parish Boundaries of St Margaret Westminster as of 1900.

Westminster St Margaret, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Westminster
Registration District Westminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster (Abbey) Post-1699 Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Middlesex Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Margaret, A parish in the city and liberty of Westminster.[1]

Additional information:

Westminster St Margaret church (is a parish; parish registers begin 1538) is situated at a small distance from the north door of Westminster Abbey. The ancient church was built in 1064, by Edward the Confessor, for the use of the neighbouring inhabitants and dedicated to the before-mentioned St Margaret. It was rebuilt in the reign of Edward I, by the parishioners and merchants of the Staple[Inn], except the chancel which was erected at the charge of the Abbot of Westminster. In 1735, it was repaired and the tower cased... granted by parliament, in consideration of its being the church wherein the House of Commons attend divine service, as the peers do in Westminster Abbey. In 1758, it was again repaired at the public expense, and again about thirty years ago [about 1800]... This church is a rectory in the city and archdeaconry of Westminster, a peculiar of the Dean and Chapter, and therefore not subject to episcopal visitation, and in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Margaret parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Westminster St Margaret Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1634-1900 Rate Books[edit | edit source]
1664 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]
1698-1836 Land Tax[edit | edit source]

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes St Margaret Land Tax records 1698-1836.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Margaret Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (70+ entries)

Poor Law[edit | edit source]

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:

  • 1561-1780 - St Margaret, Workhouses
  • 1612-1939 - St Margaret, Apprentices
  • 1689-1860 - St Margaret, Examinations
  • 1726-1735 - St Margaret, Bastardy records

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk