To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter

Guide to Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

WestminsterAbbeyNrthsideVw.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Middlesex. At the time of the suppression of the religious houses, the Abbey was surrendered to Henry VIII, who dissolved it, and erected it into a college of secular canons. under the government of a dean. Mary restored it to its original conventical state, and Queen Elizabeth finally erected the Abbey into a college as at present. The western towers were built by Sir Christopher Wren, and many subsequent repairs and embellishments have been executed by our various monarchs.[1]

Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter is a church of the first class, in the City and Liberty of Westminster.[2] Additional information:

Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter, Westminster, (1608) the church of, is situated on the western side of Westminster Hall. The origin and dedication of this ancient abbey is involved in much obscurity and fabulous legend. The most credible account is, that it was founded by Sebert King of the East Saxons, who died in 616.

"This church and its monastery were afterwards repaired and enlarged by Offa, King Mercia, but being destroyed by the Danes, they were rebuilt by King Edgar, who endowed them with lands and manors, and in 969 granted them many privileges. Being again ravaged by the Danes, they were rebuilt by Edward the Confessor, in a magnificent manner, and in the form of a cross. The works being finished in 1065...

William the Norman ["Conqueror"] embellished the church, and made it many handsome presents; and at the Christmas following his assumption of the Crown of England, he was solemnly crowned therein, this being the first coronation performed within its walls. The next prince who improved this national bulding was Henry III, who added to, and much repaired it. These repairs were completed by his successor in 1285, which is the date of the building as it now stands.

About 1502 King Henry VII began the splendid chapel that is called by his name...

View a List of the Parish Churches Lying Within the City of Westminster

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Westminster Abbey or the Collegiate Church of St Peter Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Westminster Abbey database at Find A Grave. (483+ entries)

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for two manors in Westminster Parish: Portsmouth Manor (1509-1514) and Westminster Manor (1364-1508). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Westminster Abbey on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by []. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., [http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51117#s1000 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2015
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk