West Virginia, United States Genealogy
Guide to West Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|West Virginia Wiki Topics|
|West Virginia Background|
|Local Research Resources|
West Virginia Information[edit | edit source]
West Virginia is a state in the eastern part of the United States. It is divided into 55 counties and its capital is Charleston. West Virginia was admitted to the union as the 35th state on 20 June 1863. It was created from the state of Virginia. 
- Register of persons who have taken and subscribed to ... by an ordinance for the reorganization of the state government, 1862-1865 Family History Library Catalog
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with West Virginia Research
Links to articles on getting started with West Virginia research.
West Virginia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in West Virginia research.
West Virginia Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
West Virginia Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - West Virginia genealogy sites on the internet
- West Virginia Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of West Virginia
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for West Virginia
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for West Virginia genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for West Virginia
- West Virginia Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Black Sheep Ancestors- West Virginia prisons, convicts and insane asylums
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.