|West Valley Genealogical Society
- 12222 N. 111th Ave
- Youngtown, AZ 85363
- Monday, Wednesday, Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Closed 2nd Monday of the month, September - May, for Membership Meeting)
- Tuesday, Friday, Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
- Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Map, directions, and public transportation:
- From the north side of Phoenix on I-17 (N Black Canyon Hwy): Merge onto I-17 S/Black Canyon Fwy S toward Phoenix. Take the AZ-101 Loop W exit, EXIT 214C, 1.2 mi. Merge onto AZ-101 W, 10.5 mi. Merge onto N 91st Ave via EXIT 11 toward US-60/Grand Ave, 1.0 mi. Turn right onto W Grand Ave/US-60 W, 2.7 mi. Turn left onto N 111th Ave, 0.6 mi. The WVGS Library is on the right at 12222 N 111TH AVE, just past and across the street (W California Ave) from Vick's Tires.
- From the southeast side of Phoenix on US-60 (Superstition Fwy): Turn onto E US Highway 60/US-60 W toward Phoenix. Merge onto I-10 W/Pearl Harbor Memorial Highway toward I-10 W/Phoenix, 21.3 mi. Take the AZ-101 Loop N exit, EXIT 133B, 0.8 mi. Merge onto AZ-101 N/Loop 101 N/Agua Fria Fwy N, 8.8. mi. Take the US-60/Grand Ave exit, EXIT 11, 0.3 mi. Turn left onto US-60 W/W Grand Ave, 2.4 mi. Turn left onto N 111th Ave, 0.6 mi. The WVGS Library is on the right at 12222 N 111TH AVE, just past and across the street (W California Ave) from Vick's Tires.
- From west of Phoenix on I-10 (Papago Hwy): Merge onto I-10 E/Pearl Harbor Memorial Highway/Papago Fwy E toward Phoenix. Take the AZ-101 Loop N exit, EXIT 133B, 1.1 mi. Merge onto AZ-101 N/Loop 101 N/Agua Fria Fwy N, 8.8 mi. Take the US-60/Grand Ave exit, EXIT 11, 0.3 mi. Turn left onto US-60 W/W Grand Ave, 2.4 mi. Turn left onto N 111th Ave, 0.6 mi. The WVGS Library is on the right at 12222 N 111TH AVE, just past and across the street (W California Ave) from Vick's Tires.
- From northwest of Phoenix on US-60 (Phoenix-Wickenburg Hwy/Grand Ave): Take US-60 E/Grand Ave southeast toward Phoenix, passing the Agua Fria River into Youngtown. Turn right onto N 111th Ave, 0.6 mi. The WVGS Library is on the right at 12222 N 111TH AVE, just past and across the street (W California Ave) from Vick's Tires.
- Public transportation: Valley Metro Bus
- Bus Route 106 - Peoria/Cactus stops on 111th Ave near Alabama Ave about 300 yards south of the WVGS Library.
Internet sites and databases:
- West Valley Genealogical Society calendar, events, membership, resources, store, about us, hours, subscriber databases, how-to classes, special interest groups, and monthly membership meeting.
- WVGS Catalog online by keyword, author, title, or description.
- Obituary Search over 120,000 entries, 1960's to present, primarily from West Valley area of Maricopa County, but may include other areas of Arizona and several other states.
The West Valley Genealogical Society is an active organization with many available research sources and educational opportunities. The WVGS Library is the largest non-circulating genealogical research Library in Arizona. The Collection contains thousands of books, periodicals, maps, CDs, microfilm, microfiche and obituaries. A computer lab offers free access to several genealogical databases including Ancestry.com, MyHeritage, which includes U.S. and World Vital Records, and the New England Historic Genealogical Society (American Ancestors.org). WVGS is also a FamilySearch Affiliate Library that connects users to limited-access FamilySearch records and databases. Genealogy classes and Special Interest Groups are offered. Check our website calendar. WVGS sponsors annual trips to Salt Lake City, Washington, D.C. and the Allen County Library.
For a tour of the Library call 623-933-4945 for more information.
Check us out on facebook.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the West Valley Genealogical Society, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives—Pacific Region (Riverside), CA. Federal court records and federal agencies in Arizona.
- State Library, Phoenix, has a large book/periodical collection including immigration, vital records, courts, wills, county histories, and Internet sites. The starting place for AZ family history research.
- State Archives, Phoenix, marriages, wills and probates, civil and criminal records, brands, taxes, coroner records, voting registers, prisoners, state agencies, maps, newspapers, photos.
- Bancroft Library, Univ. Calif. Berkeley Early settlers, migration trails, stagecoaches, miners, and histories. They probably have more Arizona historical material than any repository in Arizona.
- Southwest Museum Braun Research Library, Los Angeles, CA. Includes the Munk Library of Arizoniana, California and Arizona history, and records of southwest American Indians.
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, has many Arizona cemeteries, census, church, court, histories, immigration, land, military, and naturalization records on microfilm.
- Arizona State University Library, Tempe, a good place to look for early Arizona families.
- Phoenix Public Library, Burton Barr Central Library The Arizona history collection is a good place for genealogy research.
- Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration births 1950-present; and deaths.
- Maricopa County Superior Court Clerk marriages, criminal, civil, divorces, probate and tax court cases.
- Maricopa County Recorder's Office land and mortgage records 1871-present.
- U.S. District Court civil, criminal, appellate, and bankruptcy cases.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Gila, La Paz, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma.
- Arizona Historical Society, Tucson Library and Archives, has a Mexican and an early Arizona collection, Colorado River topics, manuscripts 1860-present, oral histories, maps, and photos.
- University of Arizona Special Collections, Tucson, materials on Arizona, Southwest American history, and the U.S./Mexico Borderlands, including rare books, manuscripts, and photographs.
- Northern Arizona University Cline Library, Flagstaff, includes Arizona history, Arizona photographs, archives, and oral histories.
- Pima County Public Library, Joel D. Valdez Main Library, Tucson, the Arizona collection, and the Southern Arizona Genealogical Society collection are housed here.
- Repositories in surrounding states (or nations): California, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah; in Mexico: Baja California, Sonora, and Mexico.
- California State Archives, Sacramento, has county records of the state, such as court records, prison records, wills, deeds, as well as military records, state census records, and school records.
- Nevada State Library and Archives, Carson City, births, marriages, deaths, censuses, military.
- New Mexico State Records Center and Archives, Santa Fe, government records since 1621, manuscripts, Catholic church records, census, wills, family histories, letters, diaries, maps, photos.
- Utah State Archives, Salt Lake City, newspaper, death, land, court, history, naturalization, military, directories, criminals.
- Archivo General de la Nación, Mexico City, church, civil, census, court, history, military, migration, land.