To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

West Meon, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Meon, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to West Meon, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MEON, WEST (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Droxford, hundred of Fawley, Droxford and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 7½ miles (N. E.) from Bishop's-Waltham. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

West Meon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
WEST MEON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1800

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1638-1800

GENUKI
1538-1800

JOIN
1538-1800

PALL
1790-1800

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis,, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 291-295. Date accessed: 02 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 7 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.