West Lulworth, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
West Lulworth

Guide to West Lulworth, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Lulworth, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bindon Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck
Registration District Wareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1745; For more records see Winfrith Newburgh
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

LULWORTH (WEST) (Holy Trinity), a village and a parish in Wareham district, Dorset. The Village stands under Bindon hill, 5 miles SSW of Wool railway station, and 8½ SW by W of Wareham; curves over a length of nearly a mile to the coast.[1]

LULLWORTH, WEST (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Wareham and Purbeck, liberty of Bindon, Wareham division of Dorset, 8 miles (S. W.) from Wareham. .[2].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online West Lulworth, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1700
1700
1700
Images
1700-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1999 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1731-1837 Joiner[7]
1731-1837 findmypast[8]

West Lulworth, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
West Lulworth, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1731-1825
1731-1845
1731-1880

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.