West Lavington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to West Lavington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Lavington, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
LAVINGTON (WEST), a chapelry in Woolavington parish, Sussex; comprising detached portions of the parish near Medhurst railway station. It was constituted in 1851; and its post town is Midhurst.
West Lavington is a village and civil parish on the edge of Midhurst in the Chichester district of West Sussex. West Lavington West Sussex Wikipedia.
West Lavington St Mary Magdalene was formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1850 from from a chapelry in Woolavington, Sussex Ancient Parish.
The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches West Lavington St Mary Magdalene
The church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
West Lavington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|West Lavington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lavington, West
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 16 May 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.