West Cowes St. Mary (Isle of Wight), Hampshire Genealogy
(Redirected from West Cowes, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to West Cowes, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| West Cowes St. Mary (Isle of Wight), Hampshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | West Medina Liberty |
| County | Hampshire |
| Poor Law Union | Isle of Wight |
| Registration District | Isle of Wight |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1679 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1808 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | West Medine |
| Diocese | Winchester |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester |
| Location of Archive | |
| Hampshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
COWES, WEST, a sea-port and chapelry, in the N. division of the parish of Northwood, liberty of West Medina, Isle of Wight division of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (N.) from Newport, and 86 (S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1].
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
West Cowes St. Mary (Isle of Wight) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| West Cowes St. Mary (Isle of Wight) Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS PRs | 1538-1980 | 1538-1980 | 1538-1980 | |||
| FS BTs | 1680-1892 | 1680-1892 | 1680-1892 | |||
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538-1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FREG | 1538-2000 | 1538-2000 | 1538-2000 | |||
| FMP | 1752-1851 | 1754-1837 | 1400-1850 | |||
| TGEN | 1537-1800s | 1538-1800s | 1538-1800s | |||
| ANC | 1689-1837 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Hampshire Archives and Local Studies.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
 |
This section is empty. You can help by adding to it. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 702-710. Date accessed: 02 June 2013.
- ↑ Searching Parish Records online (Hampshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
FamilySearch
