To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford St Giles Nottinghamshire.jpg
West Bridgford St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham; Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BRIDGFORD, WEST (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Basford, partly in the S. division of the wapentake of Bingham, but chiefly in the N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. At each of the hamlets of Basingfield and Gampston is a place called Chapel Yard, the supposed site of a chapel.[1]

Additional information:

West Bridgford St Giles is an Ancient parish which includes Gamsford and Bassingfield

The church of St Giles dates from the 13th century and was restored in 1872; designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage  British listed bulding

Gamston St Luke was formed from this Ancient Parish and should not be confused with Gamston, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records[edit | edit source]

West Bridgford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
West Bridgford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Bailey, Bryan.  Particulars and Rental of an Estate at West Bridgeford in the County of Nottingham the Property of John Musters Esqr 1800.  Alphabetical listing surname, given name, description of whethether house or land, quantity of land, and the annual Rent. Original Article held Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.TB 2/2/14, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 115, pages 74-75, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

West Bridgeford (Bridgeford) in GENUKI: West Bridgford

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk