West Acklam, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to West Acklam, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Acklam, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1737|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Acklam St Mary is an Ancient parish. it should not be confused with Acklam, Yorkshire
ACKLAM-IN-CLEVELAND, a parish, in the union of Stockton-upon-Tees, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 3 miles (S. E. by E.) from Stockton. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described West Acklam like this:
ACKLAM (West), a parish in the district of Stock ton, and N. R. Yorkshire; 2 miles S of Newport r. station, and 4 ESE of Stockton. Post Town, Stainton under Stockton. Acres, 1,476. Real property, £1,029. Pop., 108. Houses, 19. The property is divided among a few. Acklam Hall is the seat of T. Hustler, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £77.* Patron, Y. Hustler, Esq. The church is good. Charities, £5.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of West Acklam exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WEST ACKLAM PARISH (1737) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Bishop’s Transcripts Collection Ayrsome Friends in Ackland Yorkshire
The transcript collection reference DDR/EA/PBT/2/15 in the Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections cover the years 1875-1888 and are included in the FamilySearch Historical Records image collection of Durham Bishop’s Transcripts.
These images are of Quaker burials in the parish.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Middlesbrough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire from 1876
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.