To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Werrington, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Werrington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Werrington, Devon
St Martin's Church, Werrington.jpg
St Martin's Church, Werrington
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Launceston
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WERRINGTON (St. Martin and St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Launceston, hundred of Black Torrington, Lifton and N. divisions of Devon, 2½ miles (N. by W.) from Launceston.[1]

Werrington St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall which was formerly in Devon. Other places in the parish include: Bridgetown and Yeolmbridge.
In Werrington Park is a substantial house built by Sir Francis Drake about 1620. A larger mansion was built next to it on the site of old parish church in the early 18th century (the architect may have been William Kent).

The church was dedicated to St Martin of Tours. The parish is in the Archdeaconry of Cornwall, and Deanery of Trigg Major. The Church (St. Martin and St. Giles) was rebuilt in 1742 with a large tower, and two small ones at the west end.

The parish is part of Boyton, North Tamerton, Werrington with St Giles-In-The-Heath and Virginstow United Parish, United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Werrington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Devon, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Devon Bishop's Transcripts, 1558-1887 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free[2]
FMP = Devon Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Devon Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Werrington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS BTs 1558-1887
1558-1887
1558-1887
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG

1680-1812


ARCHIVE
1663, 1682-1745
1701-1745
1654, 1682-1739
FMP 1538-1923
1507-2002
1537-1988
FMP Banns

1629-1918


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Werrington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 513-517. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. Edward King, 'Extracts from the Registers of Werrington, Co. Devon,' in George W. Marshall, ed., The Genealogist, Vol. 4 (1880):61-63, 165. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk