Wembworthy, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Wembworthy, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||North Taunton with Winkleigh|
|Poor Law Union||Crediton|
|Parish registers: 1674|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WEMBWORTHY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Crediton, hundred of North Tawton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 3½ miles (S. S. W.) from Chulmleigh.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wembworthy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wembworthy Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wembworthy on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 506-509. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.