Welwyn, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Hertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Welwyn, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broadwater
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Welwyn
Registration District Hatfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Welwyn
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History

Welwyn, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Hatfield district, Hertfordshire. The village stands on the river Maran, it is 1 1/4 miles W of the Great Northern railway, and 5 miles N of Hatfield. There are places of worship for Huntingtonians and Wesleyans.[1]

WELWYN (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Broadwater, county of Hertford, 8 miles (W. N. W.) from Hertford; There are places of worship for Huntingtonians and Wesleyans. [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welwyn, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Welwyn, Hertfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1907

FMP 1559-1910 1559-1910 1559-1928 1559-1928 1558-1934 1558-1934
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1558-1876 1558-1840



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Welwyn on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales], 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.