Wellingborough All Hallows, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Wellingborough All Hallows, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wellingborough All Hallows, Northamptonshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wellingborough|
|Parish registers: 1586|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1706|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WELLINGBOROUGH (All Saints), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Hamfordshoe, N. division of the county of Northampton, 10 miles (N. E. by E.) from Northampton, and 67 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wellingborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wellingborough Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Squire, David. The Stockburn Family of Kettering. History of Richard Stockburn originally from Wellingborough, and Joyce Jones married 1734, moving to Kettering in 1737, and the history of the family there. One of the descendants moves to Northampton, All Saints, also Boddington, and Suffolk, Woodbridge, Surnames: Joy, Witlark, Turner, Linnell, Wallis and Smith. Article is dated from 1737-1978, and is found in Footsteps, (Northamtonshire Family History Society Mag.) vol14.no.1.page26-30, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.14
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November 2013.