Welland County, Ontario Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Ontario
Welland County

Guide to Welland County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Welland County (area, excluding cities was 226,970 acres) is a historic county in the Canadian province of Ontario.

The county was formed in 1845 from Lincoln County. The county was named from the Welland River. The river got its name from John Graves Simcoe who named it after the River Welland which forms a border of Lincolnshire, England. Niagara Falls, and the Townships in this county were among the earliest settlements in Upper Canada.

In some census and election records from the late 19th century, the townships of Pelham and Wainfleet (which can be seen on the map below) were enumerated as part of Monck County. However, Monck never existed as a county in the political sense, but only as an electoral district.

In 1970, Lincoln and Welland Counties were amalgamated to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara.

Civil Registration

Birth

Marriage

Death


Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record

  • ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
  • ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
  • ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.

FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records

Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be available for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Welland County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Welland County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Census Records


Year Census Links

1800-1842

Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842

Ancestry $

1851

Canada Census, 1851

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1861

Census of Canada, 1861

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1871

Census of Canada, 1871

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1881

Census of Canada, 1881

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1891

Census of Canada, 1891

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1901

Census of Canada, 1901

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com $

1911

Census of Canada, 1911

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

1921

Census of Canada, 1921

Ancestry $

Church Records

Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.

Online Church Records

These records are incomplete.

($).

Cemetery Records

See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.

Online Cemetery Records


History

Parent County

  • The county was formed in 1845 from Lincoln County.
  • Lincoln County was formed in 1792. In 1845,
  • Southern portion of Lincoln County was separated to form Welland County.

Boundary Changes

  • In some census and election records from the late 1800s, the townships of Pelham and Wainfleet were enumerated as part of Monck County. However, Monck never existed as a county in the political sense, but only as an electoral district.
  • In 1970, Lincoln and Welland Counties were amalgamated to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara.

Places/Localities

 Populated Places

Bertie Township
  • Bertie Bay
  • Buffalo Heights
  • Crystal Beach
  • Fort Erie
  • Oakhill Forest
  • Ridgemount
  • Snyder
  • Stevensville
  • Thunder Bay



Crowland Township
  • Cooks Mills
  • Dain City
  • Welland

Thorold Township 

  • Allanburg
  • Allangburg Junction
  • Black Horse Corners
  • Centreville
  • Port Robinson
  • St. Johns West
  • Thorold
  • Turners Corners
Humberstone Township
  • Bethel
  • Brookfield
  • Gasline
  • Humberstone
  • Port Colborne
  • Sherkston
  • Sugar Loaf Hill

Willoughby Township 

  • Chippewa
  • Douglastown
  • Netherby
  • White Pigeon
Pelham Township
  • Effingham
  • Fenwick
  • Fonthill
  • Pelham
  • Pelham Centre
  • Pelham Corners
  • North Pelham

Stamford Township 

  • Clifton
  • Drummondville
  • Niagara Falls
  • Stamford
  • Stamford Station
Wainfleet Township
  • Beckett Bridge
  • Longbeach
  • Marshville
  • Marshville Station
  • Ostyhon Corners
  • Perry Station
  • Sugar Loaf Hill
  • Wainfleet
  • Wainfleet Station
  • Willow Bay
  • Winger

Neighboring Counties

LincolnHaldimand | United States: Niagara County, New York | Erie County, New York

Resources

Cemeteries =

Census Records

Directories

Maps

Vital Records

Marriage
Death
Birth

Populated Places Table

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Allanburg       Link   Link
 Bertie   Township     Link   Link
 Bethel        Link   Link
 Bridgeburg        Link   Link
 Chippewa       Link   Link
 City of the Falls        Link   Link
 Clifton       Link   Link
 Crowland    Township    Link   Link
 Drummondville       Link   Link
 Falls View        Link   Link
 Fonthill          Link   Link
 Fort Erie        Link   Link
 Humberstone      Township    Link   Link
 Lundy's Lane       Link   Link
 Marshville       Link   Link 
 Niagara Falls        Link   Link
 Niagara Falls Village        Link   Link
 North Pelham        Link   Link
 Pelham   Township    Link   Link
 Petersburg        Link   Link
 Port Colborne        Link   Link
 Port Robinson          Link   Link
 Ridgeville       Link   Link
 Ridgeway        Link   Link
 Snyder       Link   Link
 St. Johns West        Link   Link
 Stamford       Link   Link
 Stamford   Township    Link   Link
 Stevensville       Link   Link
 Thorold        Link   Link
 Thorold    Township   Link   Link
 Victoria       Link   Link
 Wainfleet    Township    Link   Link
 Welland        Link   Link
 Willoughby   Township    Link   Link
 Windmill Point        Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Websites

The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.