Weiding, Bavaria, Germany Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Weiding, Bavaria, Germany)
Jump to: navigation, search
Bavaria Wiki Topics
Neuschwanstein.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bavaria Background
Local Research Resources
Germany
Bavaria
Upper Palatinate
Weiding

History And Geography

Foothills-of-the-alps-1340605.jpg


Weiding is a small town in eastern Bavaria. It has a cemetery, and it's own church. It is a municipality in the district of Schwandorf. In the late 1800's it was considered a dorf (village), but today it is larger.


  • In the 10th and 11th centuries, Bavarian settlers wandered from Nabburg to the east. Nabburg is a municipality also in the district of Schwandorf in Bavaria, Germany. Nabburg is situated on the river Naab, 23 km east of Amberg.
  • Weiding was founded before 1270 and is one of the oldest villages of the region.
  • It frequently changed ownership and in 1803, it was sold to the Earl of Du Moulin-Eckart to whom it still belongs today. See Weiding, Schwandorf in Wikipedia for more information about Weiding.

Online Records


  • Heiratsbelege: Weiding, 1862-1915 contains pre-1862 proclamations of marriage of the Oberviechtach, Bayern area. This link take you to the FamilySearch catalog which tells you the microfilm numbers for these civil records of marriage banns, marriage supplements, and permissions to change residence for Weiding, Bavaria, Germany. The films might be available at Family History Centers. There are plans to digitize everything eventually and make it available online. Recheck periodically to see if they are online.
  • Bavaria, Germany, WWI Personnel Rosters, 1914-1918 includes information on soldiers from Weiding and can be found at Ancestry.com

Civil Registration

Weiding is in the Admininstative Region of Oberpfalz, in the district of Schwandorf and has a municipal association with the nearby town of Schonsee. There is not a civil records office in Weiding, but there might be information available at the Schonsee Rauthaus.

Schonsee Germany Rathaus.JPG

The Standesamt (Civil Registration Office) at the Rathaus (Town Hall) has records back to around 1887. If you are seeking information concerning your family prior to that time it is necessary to go to church records.

The records they have are great and it is a good place to start. However, the person over vital records is not always there or always available to assist with research. It is important to contact them ahead of time to make an appointment. The good news is that they don't usually charge for making a copy of anything they are able to find on your family. (As of 2010)

Schönsee Standesamt
Hauptstraße 25
92539 Schönsee
Germany
Phone: 09674 / 9212-0
Fax: 09674 / 9212-29
info@vg-schoensee.de
Website

Catholic Church Records

In 1280 a stone church of St. Nikolaus is mentioned in an urbarium. It was destroyed by the Hussites in the 15th century. The rebuilt church burned down in 1836. The current church was built in 1842 and like the others is dedicated to St. Nikolaus. Ninety-five per cent of the inhabitants of Weiding are Catholics.

St. Nikolaus Catholic Church

Mittere G. 10
92557
Weiding
Germany

You can see the church on Google Map
Parish records are not kept on the church here so it is necessary to go to the Catholic Archive in Regensburg to access the parish records of Weiding.

Regensburg Bischöfliches Zentralarchiv - for most of Oberpfalz


St.Petersweg 11-13
D-93047 Regensburg
Germany
email: archiv@bistum-regensburg.de

Website

  • List of parish registers This link takes you to a listing of the records available on microfiche at the Regensburg Catholic Archive. It is organized in alphabetical order of the towns and villages in the diocese. It also tells you what kind of documents are available in which years. Taufen means baptism, Trauungen means marriage, and Beerdigungen means burial.
  • The archive will do genealogical research for you. Requests can be made by mail or email. The fee for genealogical research is Euros 35.00 per half an hour plus postage.


The records in the Regensburg Catholic Archive are on microfiche which takes time and patience to read. It is necessary to make an appointment to use a film reader. There is a 7 Euro fee per day per person to do research and a charge per document you have copied.(I think we paid about 8 Euros per page) This can add up to an expensive way to gather information, however, you can just take a pencil (not an ink pen) and paper and write down what you find. The people that work there don't usually have much time to assist you....so go planning on spending the first half of the day just figuring out how to use their system. Also, if you complete your research at the end of the day they may not be able to have the documents you need copied until the next day. You can return the next day to pick them up or you can pay them to mail them to your home.br

Lutheran Church Records

Bavaria was and is predominantly Catholic. If your ancestors lived in Weiding, there is a chance they affiliated with the Catholic church because of the prohibitive distance to a Lutheran church. (There is not a Lutheran Church in Schnösee.) However, if you do not find them in Catholic records, you should search the Lutheran records.

  • According to Meyer's Gazetteer, the only close Lutheran church in 1871 was Neunburg Vorm Wald.

PARISH OFFICE NEUNBURG VORM WALD

Bahnhofstrasse 3
92431 Neunburg
Tel: 0967291350
Fax: 0967291352
E-Mail: pfarramt@neunburg-evangelisch.de
Website

FamilySearch Catalog lists church records, which are currently on microfilm from the parish of Nuenburg Vorm Wald. They might be available at a Family History Center. There are plans to have these records digitized and available online by 2020.

  • Today, Weiding is served by the parish of Oberveichtach.

PARISH OFFICE OBERVIECHTACH

Road: Martin Luther Street 4
City: 92526 Oberviechtach
Tel: 096711533
Fax: 09671918408
Website
  • The Lutheran Archive for Bavaria is in Nurnberg. It is always a good idea to contact in advance and make an appointment to use any archive.

You can email to inquire about information for you ancestors.

Csm LEISKA 3479-15b 2000x1125px 566d9b4959.jpg

Veilhofstraße 8
90489 Nurnberg
Germany
E-Mail: archiv@elkb.de

Website

Cemeteries


There is a small cemetery in Weiding. If you want to find information on your ancestors in a cemetery, keep in mind that in most Bavarian cemeteries the grave plots are recycled as often as every 25 years. (sometimes 50 -100 years).

Schönseer Str. 5
92557 Weiding
Germany
Cemetery Location on Google Map

Additional Help

We hope that the above information will be useful to those seeking genealogy for their family from Weiding, Bavaria, Germany. If you are still struggling be sure to use the "Bavaria Wiki Topics" guide on the upper right side of this page. Another wonderful resource available on Wiki is the Wiki Wizard German videos.