Weedon Lois, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Northamptonshire Parishes
Weedon Lois

Guide to Weedon Lois, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Weedon Lois, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greens-Norton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Towcester
Registration District Towcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brackley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

WEEDON-LOYS (St. Peter and St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Towcester, hundred of GreensNorton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 6¼ miles (W. by S.) from Towcester. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Weedon Lois, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Weedon Lois, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1893 1813-1893 1813-1893 1813-1893
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1813-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.