Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Webster County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
The County was named for Daniel Webster. The County has Webster Springs as its seat and the County was created January 10, 1860. The County is located in the centre area of the state.
Webster County, West Virginia Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
1888 Fire burned the courthouse and destroyed many records. Additionally, prior to the fire, records were not consistently kept.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
For tips on accessing Webster census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.
- West Virginia Archves & History - Webster County
- Webster County, West Virginia History
- Webster County, West Virginia History
Maps and Gazetteers
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Webster County Map
- Webster County, West Virginia 1895 Map
Regiments. Service men in Webster served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Webster County:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B and I.
- - 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company).
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Civil War and Rev War for Webster County
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Probate Records
- 1724-1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756-1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1888-1964 Webster County, West Virginia Will Books 1888-1964
- West Virginia Will Books
- Wills of Webster County, Rootsweb
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records, 1865-1969 (varies) - Includes birth, death, and marriage.
- 1780-1970 - West Virginia Marriages, 1780-1970 at FamilySearch — index
- 1801-1962 - West Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Webster County, West Virginia Marriage Records
- 1804-1999 - West Virginia Deaths, 1804-1999 at FamilySearch — index
- Webster County, West Virginia Death Records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Webster County Historical Society
- Webster County Historical Society newsletter
- Webster County DAR and SAR
- Webster County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Webster County Family Histories
- Hacker's Creek Pioneer Descedants, Inc
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Wikipedia contributors, "Webster County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_West_Virginia."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Webster County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Webster County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 August 2018.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.