To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Webster County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Webster Springs
Organized: January 10, 1860
Parent County(s): Nicholas, Braxton, Randolph[1]
Neighboring Counties
Braxton  • Greenbrier  • Lewis  • Nicholas  • Pocahontas  • Randolph  • Upshur
See County Maps
Courthouse
Webster County West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-webster.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Daniel Webster. The County has Webster Springs as its seat and the County was created January 10, 1860. The County is located in the centre area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Webster County Courthouse
2 Court Sq, #G1
Webster Springs, WV 26288
Phone:304-847-2508
Webster County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, burial, probate, and land records from 1887.[3]

Webster County, West Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1887 1887 1887 1887 1887 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1888 Fire burned the courthouse and destroyed many records. Additionally, prior to the fire, records were not consistently kept.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Webster County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,555
1870 1,730 11.3%
1880 3,207 85.4%
1890 4,783 49.1%
1900 8,862 85.3%
1910 9,680 9.2%
1920 11,562 19.4%
1930 14,216 23.0%
1940 18,080 27.2%
1950 17,888 −1.1%
1960 13,719 −23.3%
1970 9,809 −28.5%
1980 12,245 24.8%
1990 10,729 −12.4%
2000 9,719 −9.4%
2010 9,154 −5.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Webster census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Randolph CountyPocahontas CountyGreenbrier CountyNicholas CountyBraxton CountyLewis CountyUpshur CountyWV WEBSTER.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Webster served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Webster County:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B and I.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company).[7]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Webster County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Webster County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Webster County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Webster_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 August 2018.
  7. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.